Purple Cap winners in each season of IPL ahead of IPL 2024

Purple Cap winners in each season of IPL ahead of IPL 2024

Let's have a look at the complete list of purple cap winners in each of Indian Premier League (IPL) season.

Every year, the Purple Cap is given to the IPL’s top wicket-taker. Among the bowlers who have earned the Purple Cap are cricket legends like Lasith Malinga. The complete list of IPL Purple Cap winners from 2008 to 2023 is below. Harshal Patel and Dwayne Bravo have the record of bagging most wickets in a season with 32 each.

Notably, Pakistan’s Sohail Tanvir became the first bowler to receive the Purple Cap in the inaugural season in 2008. He took 22 wickets for the Rajasthan Royals in 11 games during that season. In IPL 2024, express pacer Mohammed Shami took the most wickets. On that note, let us take a look at Purple cap winners in IPL.


List of IPL winners in Indian Premier League history

Players with most runs in IPL history

Most expensive bowling spells in IPL history

Purple cap winners in IPL

2023Mohammed ShamiGujarat Titans28
2022Yuzvendra ChahalRajasthan Royals27
2021Harshal PatelRoyal Challengers Bangalore32
2020Kagiso RabadaDelhi Capitals30
2019Imran TahirChennai Super Kings26
2018Andrew TyeKings XI Punjab24
2017Bhuvneshwar KumarSunrisers Hyderabad26
2016Bhuvneshwar KumarSunrisers Hyderabad23
2015Dwayne BravoChennai Super Kings26
2014Mohit SharmaChennai Super Kings23
2013Dwayne BravoChennai Super Kings32
2012Morne MorkelDelhi Daredevils25
2011Lasith MalingaMumbai Indians28
2010Pragyan OjhaDeccan Chargers21
2009RP SinghDeccan Chargers23
2008Sohail TanvirRajasthan Royals22

Editors pick

DRS, April 13: DC end LSG's streak, Pant turns clock back & Thala Dhoni fever rages on
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?
Controversy, thy name is Pandya Virat-Rohit bromance moments Best yorkers of IPL 2024 Players who have featured for both teams RCB and RR Longest sixes in IPL 2024 so far