Most expensive bowling spells in IPL history ft. Mohit Sharma

Most expensive bowling spells in IPL history ft. Mohit Sharma

Ahead of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024, let us look at the most expensive spells by bowlers in IPL history.

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a tournament where every run significantly influences the final result. However, on their off days, bowlers may concede runs, diminishing their team’s chances of winning. Let’s explore the bowlers who have delivered the most expensive bowling spell in IPL history.

Mohit Sharma4.07318.25GTv DC
Basil Thampi4.07017.50SRHv RCB
Luke Wood4.06817.00MIv DC
Yash Dayal4.06917.25GTv KKR
I Sharma4.06616.50SRHv Super Kings
Mujeeb Ur Rahman4.06616.50PBKSv Sunrisers
Arshdeep Singh3.566117.21PBKSv Mumbai
UT Yadav4.06516.25DCv RCB
Sandeep Sharma4.065116.25PBKSv Sunrisers
S Kaul4.064216.00SRHv Mumbai
JR Hazlewood4.06416.00RCBv Punjab Kings
VR Aaron4.063215.75DCv Super Kings

Five most expensive spells by Bowlers in IPL

Mohit Sharma

Gujarat Titans bowler Mohit Sharma has topped the list by conceding 73 runs in his 4-over spell. He was targeted by DC star batters Rishabh Pant and Axar Patel, especially Pant, who smashed Mohit Sharma for 30 runs in the last over. To date, it’s the worst bowling figure registered by any bowler in IPL history.

Basil Thampi

Basil Thampi, an Indian fast bowler owns the record for the most expensive bowling spell in IPL. In the 2018 IPL, Basil Thampi, who was playing for Sunrisers Hyderabad, gave up 70 runs in 4 overs against the Royal Challengers of Bengal. In the first over of the match, Moeen Ali took Thampi on and carted him for two sixes. Basil went on to give up eighteen runs in the second over before AB de Villiers removed him.

Yash Dayal

Rinku Singh’s five consecutive sixes brought him into the limelight, but it came at a cost for Yash Dayal, who bowled against him, registering the second most expensive spell in IPL history.

Ishant Sharma

The third-most costly spell in IPL history is currently held by Ishant Sharma. In the 2013 IPL, he took a serious beating at the hands of Chennai Super Kings. He gave up 11 runs in his opening over. Murali Vijay smashed him for three sixes in his second over. Ishant let up 25 runs in his final over.

Mujeeb Ur Rahman

In the 2019 IPL, Mujeeb Ur Rahman conceded 66 runs. After going for ten runs in his first over, the Afghanistani spinner was introduced to the attack in the second over of the innings. Mujeeb gave up 28 runs in his opening two overs, while Warner struck him three fours in his subsequent over.

Arshdeep Singh

Arshdeep Singh, a talented young player with a bright future, faced a tough day on the field, like any cricketer. In the IPL 2023 match against Mumbai Indians, he conceded 66 runs in 3.5 overs. Tilak Varma, in particular, punished Arshdeep by scoring 24 runs off just 8 deliveries, contributing to his team’s historic triumph.


Editors pick

KKR vs SRH LIVE Updates: Venkatesh Iyer takes charge after Cummins removes Narine
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?
How should Blue Tigers line up for AFC Asian Cup 2023? Players to watch out for in AFC Asian Cup  Most expensive assets owned by Virat Kohli Adam Zampa shows off his unique tattoo to celebrate World Cup wins Pandya’s ‘Furball’ to KL Rahul’s ‘Simba’, cricketers with their pets IND vs AFG 2nd T20I – Fantasy Tips, Probable XI, and More Team India’s Strongest Playing XI for T20 World Cup 2024 Virat Kohli to Babar Azam: Batters with most runs in T20Is MI strongest XI for IPL 2024 STRONGEST XI OF CHENNAI SUPER KINGS IN IPL 2024