Paris 2024

Mission South Africa! Suryakumar Yadav-led India eye next T20 series win

Mission South Africa! Suryakumar Yadav-led India eye next T20 series win

Suryakumar Yadav is keen to continue his good start to his T20 captaincy career as he now targets to win T20 series in South Africa.

India Cricket Team wrapped up the five-match T20 series against Australia with a six-wicket win in Bengaluru. The Suryakumar-led side did not show any mercy in the final T20I against Aussie despite wrapping up the series in the fourth T20I itself. With only six T20Is to go before the T20 World Cup, Suryakumar Yadav-led India will now aim to dominate South Africa in their backyard. The team selected for the Proteas tour in the T20 series more or less resembles the same look.

With Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, and Jasprit Bumrah not part of the T20 series against South Africa, the likes of Mukesh Kumar, Ruturaj Gaikwad, and Yashasvi Jaiswal have a golden chance to further impress the selectors ahead of the T20 World Cup. Mukesh, Gaikwad, and Jaiswal had a good T20 series against Australia, and now it’s about continuing with the same momentum.

With the Ajit Agarkar-led selection panel stating clearly that it will look to give youngsters a longer ropecin the T20I format, the South Africa series presents a golden opportunity for this Indian team to press a case for the selection for the T20 World Cup.

Also Read


Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Gill, Siraj back from the break, as Suryakumar Yadav-led India target series win in South Africa

Ravindra Jadeja, Shubman Gill, Kuldeep Yadav, and Mohammed Siraj will return from the break and will feature in the three-match T20 series against South Africa. Barring the four players, the rest of the squad will be the same from the Australia T20 series. However, the pressure will be huge on Gill, Jadeja, Kuldeep, and Siraj to deliver the goods in the shortest format of the game, as in their absence others have done well.

Ravi Bishnoi picked up nine wickets against Australia, and was named player of the series. He is delivering consistently and trying to make the T20 WC spot his own in absence of Kuldeep. On the other hand, Gaikwad was the highest run-scorer in the T20 series in the absence of Gill.

A slip-up against South Africa will prove to be disastrous for the seasoned players.

India squad for T20 Series against South Africa

Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav (C), Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Ravindra Jadeja (VC), Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Deepak Chahar


Editors pick

Sairaj Bahutule to be India’s bowling coach for Sri Lanka as Morkel’s appointment delayed
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?