MS Dhoni & Co to begin warm up camp for IPL 2024 on March 1

MS Dhoni & Co to begin warm up camp for IPL 2024 on March 1

Chennai Super Kings' pre-IPL camp will answer whether MS Dhoni will play the entire IPL 2024 or will handover charges midway as he is still recovering from a knee injury.

Defending champions Chennai Super Kings will begin their pre-IPL camp on March 1. CSK pacer Deepak Chahar confirmed that in an interaction with Aakash Chopra on YouTube. With doubts surrounding MS Dhoni and his retirement, IPL 2024 camp will answer many questions. However, it’s still unclear where CSK will have the camp, at the MA Chidambaram Stadium or any other facility. The IPL starts on March 22 tentatively.

To start with, players who will conclude their Ranji Trophy campaign will join the pre-IPL camp. Head coach Stephen Fleming apart from CSK support staff will head the camp.

Among the players, apart from MS Dhoni, Deepak Chahar and Shardul Thakur will be the two to watch out for. Chahar is looking at IPL 2024 to make a comeback to the Indian team after a string of injury setbacks. He was picked for the South Africa T20 series. However, he had to pull out owing to personal reasons.

Will MS Dhoni call it a time?

MS Dhoni is recovering from a knee surgery and the camp could answer whether he will play all matches. He could hand over the charges to a new captain midway through IPL.

Deepak Chahar while talking to Aakash Chopra offered a hint that he would only get to bat at No 8 next season. Currently, MS Dhoni bats at that position. Hence, it is all but certain that Dhoni will call it a time on his illustrious career. The question is when.

Latest on IPL 2024

Despite Ravindra Jadeja leading the team in 8 IPL matches in 2022, Dhoni took back the charges as captaincy was impacting his performances.

Apart from Jadeja, CSK also have Ruturaj Gaikwad and Ajinkya Rahane apart from Devon Conway as potential captaincy options.

CSK Full squad for IPL 2024

MS Dhoni (c), Ravindra Jadeja, Moeen Ali, Devon Conway, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shivam Dube, Deepak Chahar, Mitchell Santner, Ajinkya Rahane, Shivam Dube, Mukesh Choudhary, Matheesha Pathirana, Maheesh Theekshana, Tushar Deshpande, Ajay Mandal, Shaik Rasheed, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Simarjeet Singh, Nishant Sindhu, Prashant Solanki, Shardul Thakur, Rachin Ravindra, Daryl Mitchell, Sameer Rizvi, Mustafizur Rahman, Avanish Rao Aravelly

Google News Whatsapp channel

Editors pick

WPL 2024 a chance for India to bridge gap with Aussies, identify players for T20 World Cup