Man of the match in every T20 World Cup final

Man of the match in every T20 World Cup final

Take a look at full list of match of the match award in every T20 World Cup final so far.

The upcoming T20 World Cup will have several top teams facing each other to clinch the prestigious trophy. Speaking in individual terms, every player wants to become a star by performing in knockout games. Let us take a look at top performers who won the man of the match award in each T20 World Cup final so far.

Player of match in T20 World Cup final

2022Sam Curran4 overs – 12 runs – 3 wickets
2021Mitchell Marsh77*(50) runs
2016Marlon Samuels85*(66) runs
2014Kumar Sangakkara52*(35) runs
2012Marlon Samuels78(56) runs and 4-0-15-1
2010Craig Kieswetter63(49) runs
2009Shahid Afridi4-0-20-1 and 54*(40) runs
2007Irfan Pathan4-0-16-3

Man of match in T20 World Cup final

Irfan Pathan (T20 World Cup 2007)

Defending a low total against Pakistan in T20 World Cup final. Irfan Pathan bowled an exceptional spell of 3/16 in his four overs. Irfan picked up the wickets of Yasir Arafat, Shahid Afridi and Shoaib Malik to guide India to their maiden T20 World Cup title.

Shahid Afridi (T20 World Cup 2009)

Shahid Afridi turned up on the day of the Final in 2009 T20 World Cup final with a 40-ball 54 with the bat, before finishing a neat spell of 1/20 with the ball to guide his team to the maiden title against Sri Lanka.

Craig Kieswetter (T20 World Cup 2010)

England wicketkeeper-batter Craig Kieswettwer’s match-winning knock of 63 in the final against Australia meant that England won their first ever ICC tournament ever in the history of the sport.

Marlon Samuels (T20 World Cup 2012, 2016)

While one player of the match award in an ICC event final is enough for the world to remember you for many years to come, West Indies’ Marlon Samuels turned up twice in two successive World Cups for his side- in 2012 and 2016. In 2012 T20 World Cup, Samuels scored 78 runs off 56 deliveries to guide West Indies to 137/6 against Sri Lanka.

Four years later- in the 2016 T20 World Cup final in India, he won the Man of the Match award against England. He aggregated 85 runs off 66 deliveries and played a huge role in West Indies’ championship win.

Kumar Sangakkara (T20 World Cup 2014)

Kumar Sangakkara scored a brilliant fifty against India in the 2014 T20 World Cup final. The left-handed batter scored 52 runs off just 35 deliveries as Sri Lanka cruised to their target and lifted their first ever T20 World Cup trophy.

Mitchell March (T20 World Cup 2021)

With a splendid knock of 77 runs off 50 deliveries, the Aussie all-rounder Mitchell Marsh was adjudged the man/player of the final in the 2021 World Cup at UAE. His knock was instrumental in chasing down the score of 172/4 posted by New Zealand.

Sam Curran (T20 World Cup 2022)

England’s star all-rounder Sam Curran brought out his best against Pakistan in the last concluded T20 World Cup final. Apart from being the man of the match in World Cup final, Curran was also adjudged player of the series as England lifted their second T20 WC trophy.


Editors pick

IND vs ZIM: Mayank Yadav in the fray for Zimbabwe series, Sanju Samson to get a look in too
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?