India to England: List of T20 World Cup winners

India to England: List of T20 World Cup winners

From India to England, take a look at full list of T20 World Cup winners since 2007.

The upcoming T20 World Cup will be played in USA and West Indies jointly. As many as 20 teams will be participating in the upcoming mega event to create history. The first T20 World Cup winner was India after they defeated arch-rivals Pakistan in thrilling encounter back in 2007. Since then, as many as 5 teams have emerged as T20 World Cup winners. Let us take a look at the list.

Past T20 World Cup winners

 India 2007
 Pakistan 2009
 England 2010
 West Indies 2012
 Sri Lanka 2014
 West Indies 2016
 Australia  2021
 England 2022

T20 World Cup winners list

India (2007 T20 World Cup)

MS Dhoni led India in the victorious 2007 T20 World Cup campaign. It was his first major assignment as captain for the Indian cricket team. The Men in Blue suffered only one defeat at the hands of New Zealand during the whole tournament. They defeated Pakistan by a margin of 5 runs in the final match to clinch the trophy.

Pakistan (2009 T20 World Cup)

After finishing as runners-up in the first T20 World Cup, Pakistan won their first T20 World Cup two years later in 2009. England hosted this tournament, and Pakistan defeated Sri Lanka by 8 wickets in the final to become champions. Pakistan lost their first match against England and a crucial match against Sri Lanka but they still made a resounding comeback to lift the cup.

England (2010 T20 World Cup)

The 2010 T20 World Cup was the third edition of the tournament and the West Indies were the hosts of the showpiece event. England became the first non-Asian team to win the T20 World Cup in 2010. England beat Ashes rivals Australia in the final. The English team had lost to the West Indies in their first game, but they won all the following games and captured the trophy.

West Indies (2012 T20 World Cup)

The fourth edition of the T20 World Cup was held in Sri Lanka in 2012. For the first time, the T20 World Cup was held in Asia and it was the West Indies who won their maiden title after beating the hosts in the final. Darren Sammy led West Indies Cricket team to victory in the 2012 T20 World Cup.

Sri Lanka (2014 T20 World Cup)

The 2014 ICC T20 World Cup 2014 final took place on April 6, 2014, between India and Sri Lanka at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka. It marked the 5th edition of the T20 World Cup. Sri Lanka secured their first T20 World Cup victory by defeating India by six wickets, having previously been runners-up in 2009 and 2012. This win made Sri Lanka the fifth team to claim the title, joining India, Pakistan, England, and West Indies. 

West Indies (2016 T20 World Cup)

The T20 World Cup 2016 Final took place in Kolkata deciding the champions of the tournament between England and the West Indies. The West Indies emerged victorious by 4 wickets, making them the first team to secure the ICC World T20 title twice.

Australia (2021 T20 World Cup)

The 2021 T20 World Cup took place in UAE with Australia emerging as winners after defeating New Zealand in the final. Before coming to the final, Australia defeated Pakistan in the semi-final clash. This was Australia’s first T20 World Cup trophy.

England (2022 T20 World Cup)

 England Cricket Team emerged victorious in the final match of the 2022 T20 World Cup. They defeated Pakistan by five wickets to secure their second ICC Men’s T20 World Cup title, matching the West Indies’ record. All-rounder, Sam Curran was adjudged player of the tournament and player of the match in final’s for his terrific performance with both bat and the ball.


Editors pick

Predicted India Playing XI: Kuldeep to return, Siraj out of IND vs AFG?
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?