Frenkie De Jong, Memphis Depay in Ronald Koeman’s Netherlands EURO 2024 squad despite injury concerns

Frenkie De Jong, Memphis Depay in Ronald Koeman’s Netherlands EURO 2024 squad despite injury concerns

Ronald Koeman’s side will kick off their campaign against Poland on June 16 at the Volksparkstadion in Hamburg.

Netherlands head coach Ronald Koeman has unveiled his 26-man squad for EURO 2024 in Germany, making some bold decisions. Among the notable inclusions are Frenkie de Jong and Memphis Depay, despite both players dealing with recent injuries. Koeman remains hopeful that they will recover in time to play pivotal roles in the tournament, which runs from June 14 to July 14.

De Jong, Depay in Netherlands EURO 2024 squad despite injury concerns

“Frenkie will report for the team on Saturday, but things are going well. The first group match (against Poland in Hamburg on June 16) is feasible (for him to play),” Koeman told reporters while announcing the squad. “We have had a troubled cycle with many injuries. You make choices and sometimes they are difficult.”

De Jong, who missed Barcelona’s last six matches of the season due to injury, is expected to prove his fitness ahead of the Netherlands’ opening match against Poland in Hamburg. Similarly, Depay, just six goals away from equaling Robin van Persie’s record as the nation’s top scorer, has also been included despite fitness concerns.

Check out more latest news on UEFA Euro 2024

The decision to include them is strategic, especially with UEFA’s extension of squad sizes from 23 to 26 players for the finals. Koeman is aiming to lead the Netherlands to their first European Championship title since 1988, a victory he himself was a part of as a player.

On the other hand, uncapped left-back Ian Maatsen, who had been named in Koeman’s preliminary squad earlier this month has been left out. The 22-year-old Dortmund defender, a standout in his loan spell from Chelsea, has played every minute of Dortmund’s journey to the Champions League final.

Netherlands EURO 2024 squad

Goalkeepers: Justin Bijlow, Mark Fleken, Bart Verbruggen

Defenders: Nathan Ake, Daley Blind, Stefan de Vrij, Lutsharel Geertruida, Denzel Dumfries, Matthijs de Ligt , Jeremy Frimpong, Micky van de Ven, Virgil van Dijk

Midfielders: Frenkie de Jong, Ryan Gravenberch, Teun Koopmeiners, Tijjani Reijnders, Jerdy Schouten , Xavi Simons, Joey Veerman, Georginio Wijnaldum

Forwards: Steven Bergwijn, Brian Brobbey, Memphis Depay, Cody Gakpo, Donyell Malen, Wout Weghorst


Editors pick

Shubman Gill's India to leave for Zimbabwe on July 1, Jaiswal & Samson to join after T20 World Cup ends
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?