No Jack Grealish, Harry Maguire as Gareth Southgate names 26-member England EURO 2024 squad

No Jack Grealish, Harry Maguire as Gareth Southgate names 26-member England EURO 2024 squad

England reach UEFA Euro final after 58 years in 2020, however they lost to Italy in penalties

Gareth Southgate has unveiled his 26-man England squad for Euro 2024, marking some surprising exclusions and inclusions. Notably, Jack Grealish and Harry Maguire have been left out. Maguire, suffering from a persistent calf injury since mid-April, had to bow out, while his Manchester United teammate Luke Shaw made the cut despite being sidelined since February due to a hamstring problem.

Jack Grealish, James Maddison axed from England EURO 2024 Squad

Manchester City’s Grealish, a £100 million signing and three-time Premier League winner, lost his spot to Newcastle’s Anthony Gordon and West Ham’s Jarrod Bowen. James Maddison and Curtis Jones were also omitted, with Southgate opting for Crystal Palace’s Adam Wharton and Eberechi Eze, enhancing Palace’s representation to four players.

Southgate’s defensive lineup sees Marc Guehi, Lewis Dunk, Joe Gomez, and Ezri Konsa chosen as potential partners for John Stones. This decision leaves out promising talents like Jarrad Branthwaite and Jarell Quansah, though Quansah remains on standby. In midfield, young talents like Manchester United’s Kobbie Mainoo, who debuted internationally in March, are included alongside experienced players. Ivan Toney and Ollie Watkins will back up Harry Kane in the attack.

Southgate faced tough choices, especially given the depth of talent. He expressed confidence in the squad’s potential despite the notable absences, emphasizing readiness for the tournament. England’s journey in Euro 2024 begins with their first match against Serbia on June 16, with the squad having room for last-minute changes until then due to injuries or illnesses.

Check out more latest news on UEFA EURO 2024

26-member England EURO 2024 Squad

Goalkeepers: Jordan Pickford (Everton), Dean Henderson (Crystal Palace), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal).

Defenders: Lewis Dunk (Brighton), Joe Gomez (Liverpool), Marc Guehi (Crystal Palace), Ezri Konsa (Aston Villa), Luke Shaw (Man Utd), John Stones (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Newcastle), Kyle Walker (Manchester City).

Midfielders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Conor Gallagher (Chelsea), Kobbie Mainoo (Manchester United), Declan Rice (Arsenal), Adam Wharton (Crystal Palace).

Forwards: Jude Bellingham (Real Madrid), Jarrod Bowen (West Ham), Eberechi Eze (Crystal Palace), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Anthony Gordon (Newcastle), Harry Kane (Bayern Munich), Cole Palmer (Chelsea), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Ivan Toney (Brentford), Ollie Watkins (Aston Villa).


Editors pick

Predicted India Playing XI: Kuldeep to return, Siraj out of IND vs AFG?
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?