UPW vs DC: Meg Lanning & Shafali Verma power Delhi Capitals to their first win in WPL 2024

UPW vs DC: Meg Lanning & Shafali Verma power Delhi Capitals to their first win in WPL 2024

Jemimah Rodriguez came in for one ball, propelling DC to win with a boundary finishing 123/1

UPW vs DC, Match 4: Meg Lanning and Shefali Verma guided last year’s runners-up Delhi Capitals to a stellar 9-wicket win in WPL. Chasing just a modest target of 120, Lanning hit a 51 before being dismissed while Shafali Varma added to strike up a match-defining partnership as Capitals claimed their first win in WPL 2024.

Marizanne Kapp unleashed havoc on UP Warriorz at the onset, sending Alyssa Healy (13), Vrinda Dinesh (0), and Tahlia McGrath (1) packing within the first five overs. Adding to the onslaught, Radha Yadav displayed scintillating form, securing a four-wicket haul. Amidst the chaos, Shweta Sehrawat emerged as UPW’s leading scorer, battling with determination to notch 45 runs off 42 balls. Despite her efforts, UP Warriorz could only muster 119/9 in their allotted 20 overs.

Having lost a last-ball thriller against the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) just two nights ago, the Warriorz will look for redemption at the same ground (M Chinnaswamy Stadium).

Meg Lanning’s capitals have suffered a similar fate, losing to defending champions the Mumbai Indians in the season opener due to a last-ball miracle by S Sajana. With the chance to move to the third spot on the WPL 2024 Points Table, the two Australian teammates will look to turn their friendship into a rivalry and hunt for their maiden win.

UPW vs DC: Playing XIs

UP Warriorz– Alyssa Healy(w/c), Vrinda Dinesh, Tahlia McGrath, Grace Harris, Shweta Sehrawat, Kiran Navgire, Poonam Khemnar, Deepti Sharma, Sophie Ecclestone, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Gouher Sultana

Delhi Capitals– Meg Lanning(c), Shafali Verma, Alice Capsey, Jemimah Rodrigues, Marizanne Kapp, Annabel Sutherland, Arundhati Reddy, Minnu Mani, Taniya Bhatia(w), Radha Yadav, Shikha Pandey


Editors pick

Ruturaj Gaikwad cut from same cloth as MS Dhoni: CSK coach compares new skipper to Captain Cool
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?
IPL Teams Special Jersey Controversy, thy name is Pandya Virat-Rohit bromance moments Best yorkers of IPL 2024 Players who have featured for both teams RCB and RR