RCB vs UPW: Sobhana’s fifer & Richa’s fireworks hand RCB first-ever win on home ground

RCB vs UPW: Sobhana’s fifer & Richa’s fireworks hand RCB first-ever win on home ground

The Royals have moved to the second spot on the points table, while the Warriorz find themselves dead last on the table with a 2-run loss.

What a start we have for the Women’s Premier League (WPL 2024). A last-ball finish in the Mumbai Indians vs Delhi Capitals season opener was followed by another last-ball nail-biter in the RCB vs UPW match in Bengaluru.

Following Richa Ghosh’s fiery fifty in the first inning, it was Sobhana Asha’s magic with the ball that gave Royal Challengers Bangalore their first-ever win on their home ground, M Chinnaswamy Stadium.

After Sophie Molineux cleaned up UP Warriorz skipper Alyssa Healy, Asha cleaned up the next five batters to take a memorable 5-wicket haul in RCB’s first home game. The chance of a potential comeback was stifled by Georgia Wareham, who cleaned Poonam Khemnar, gave just 5 runs, and took a wicket in the 19th over.

Molineux returned and held her nerve to give RCB a 2-run win and ensure Deepti Sharma didn’t pull an S Sajana on the last ball.

Richa Ghost Fireworks

While Sabbhineni Meghana struck an important half-century (53), it was wicketkeeper sensation Richa Ghosh who stole the show. Coming in to bat at 54/3, the 20-year-old smoked a 31-ball fifty to help her side cross the 150 mark with ease.

Ghosh ended with 62 off just 37 balls, with a strike rate of 167.57, while the other half-centurion, Meghana, ended her knock with a 120.45 strike rate. If not for her knock, RCB might have struggled to even reach a score of 135 or 140 on a good batting track.

RCB vs UPW: Brief Scores

Royal Challengers Bangalore Women: 157/6 (Richa Ghosh 62, Sabbhineni Meghana 53; Rajeshwari Gayakwad 2/24, Sophie Ecclestone 1/26)

UP Warriorz: 155/7 (Grace Harris 38, Shweta Sehrawat 31; Sobhana Asha 5/22, Georgia Wareham 1/23)

RCB vs UPW: Playing XIs

Royal Challengers Bangalore Women: Smriti Mandhana (c), Sophie Devine. Sabbhineni Meghana, Ellyse Perry, Richa Ghosh (wk), Sophie Molineux, Georgia Wareham. Shreyanka Patil, Simran Bahadur, Sobhana Asha, Renuka Thakur Singh.

UP Warriorz: Alyssa Healy (c & wk), Vrinda Dinesh, Tahlia McGrath. Grace Harris, Kiran Navgire, Sophie Ecclestone, Deepti Sharma, Shweta Sehrawat. Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Poonam Khemnar, Saima Thakor.


Editors pick

Yuzvendra Chahal creates history, becomes first player to take 200 wickets in IPL
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?
Who won the last 5 El Clasico? Stadiums hosting EURO 2024 Teams with highest scores in IPL Fastest 50 in IPL Virat Kohli – Wrong footed inswinging menace