Sri Lanka squad for T20 World Cup 2024: Injured stars Pathirana & Madushanka in, Hasaranga to lead

Sri Lanka squad for T20 World Cup 2024: Injured stars Pathirana & Madushanka in, Hasaranga to lead

Hasaranga and Madushanka didn't participate in IPL 2024 due to injuries, while Pathirana went home midway.

The Sri Lanka Cricket Board (SLC) has announced its squad for the T20 World Cup 2024. The 15-man squad will be led by Wanindu Hasaranga; Charith Asalanka will be his deputy; and four traveling reserves have been named as well. The Lankan Lions will depart from Sri Lanka on May 14, three weeks before their first clash on June 3 against South Africa.

The squad included many injury-prone players like Hasaranga, Dilshan Madushanka, and Matheesha Pathirana, who all pulled out of IPL 2024, whether before or midway through. However, their inclusion bodes well for Sri Lanka and their title contention chances.

Sri Lanka’s T20 World Cup 2024 squad

Wanindu Hasaranga (c), Charith Asalanka (vc), Kusal Mendis, Pathum Nissanka. Kamindu Mendis, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Angelo Mathews, Dasun Shanaka, Dhananjaya De Silva. Maheesh Theekshana, Dunith Wellalage, Dushmantha Chameera, Nuwan Thushara, Matheesha Pathirana, Dilshan Madushanka.

Travelling Reserves: Asitha Fernando, Vijayakanth Viyaskanth, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Janith Liyanage.

Latest on T20 WC

No new faces

The Sri Lanka cricket team has decided to go for tried-and-tested players while picking their squad for the T20 World Cup 2024. Even recently dropped, and former captain Dasun Shanaka has found himself included. Veteran all-rounder Angelo Mathews has also been added to the 15-man squad. 

Even their reserves, barring Vijayakanth Viyaskanth, have played an ample number of international matches. However, the young leg-spinner recently played for Sunrisers Hyderabad in the IPL 2024 and even played in the ILT20 2024 this year.


Sri Lanka’s schedule for T20 World Cup 2024

MatchDate & TimeVenue
Sri Lanka vs South AfricaJune 3 & 8 PM ISTNassau County International Cricket Stadium
Sri Lanka vs BangladeshJune 8 & 6 AM ISTGrand Prairie Stadium
Sri Lanka vs NepalJune 12 & 5 AM ISTCentral Broward Regional Park Stadium Turf Ground
Sri Lanka vs NetherlandsJune 17 & 6 AM ISTDaren Sammy National Cricket Stadium

Editors pick

Chennai rains likely to disrupt IPL qualifier 2 & final? Who wins in case of a washout
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?