Sri Lanka probable XI for T20 World Cup 2024

Sri Lanka probable XI for T20 World Cup 2024

After clinching the trophy in 2014, the Sri Lanka Lions didn't have a good outing afterwards. Will they be able to make an impact in the upcoming edition?

The Sri Lanka cricket team announced their ICC T20 World Cup 2024 squad a few weeks ago. As Sri Lanka Lions are aiming for their second T20 World Cup title.The recently announced team looks lethal, with a mix of aggressive batters and plenty of bowling options, making them the dark horse of the tournament.

Since, there will be high expectations from them this time. As their last few outings didn’t go well, and they will be looking to turn things around. Take a look at Sri Lanka’s probable XI, whom we will witness in the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024.

Probable Sri Lanka playing XI for T20 World Cup

OpenersPathum NissankaBatter
OpenersKusal Mendis Batter
First DownKamindu MendisBatter
Second DownSadeera SamarawickramaWicket-keeper Batter
Third DownCharith Asalanka Batter
Middle OrderAngelo MathewsAll Rounder
Middle OrderDasun ShanakaAll Rounder
Lower OrderWanindu HasarangaSpin Bowler
Lower OrderMaheesh TheekshanaSpin Bowler
Lower OrderMatheesha PathiranaPacer
Lower OrderNuwan ThusharaPacer

The Sri Lankan cricket team has always been known for surprising their opponents. The team is known for its strategic planning. And it seems like they have once again covered all their bases for the T20 World Cup.

On one hand, they have a handful of batters like Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis. Both known for his solid technique and ability to anchor the innings. They have excellent middle-order batter like Sadeera Samarawickrama, who can possess anchoring skills and also take on the bowlers if needed. Also, spinners like Maheesh Theekshana and Wanindu Hasaranga could become a threat, along with pace sensation Matheesha Pathirana.

Sri Lanka T20 World Cup squad

Kusal MendisBatter
Pathum NissankaBatter
Charith Asalanka (vc)All-rounder
Kamindu MendisAll-rounder
Sadeera SamarawickramaWicketkeeper
Angelo MathewsAll-rounder
Dasun ShanakaAll-rounder
Dhananjaya de SilvaAll-rounder
Wanindu Hasaranga (C)Spin Bowler
Dunith WellalageSpin Bowler
Maheesh TheekshanaSpin Bowler
Dushmantha ChameeraFast bowler
Matheesha PathiranaFast bowler
Nuwan ThusharaFast bowler
Dilshan MadushankaFast bowler

Editors pick

Shubman Gill's India to leave for Zimbabwe on July 1, Jaiswal & Samson to join after T20 World Cup ends
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?