Shreyas Iyer likely to get fined INR 24 lakh for KKR’s slow over-rate in their tight win vs RCB

Shreyas Iyer likely to get fined INR 24 lakh for KKR’s slow over-rate in their tight win vs RCB

Shreyas Iyer is most likely to get bore of the brunt for Kolkata Knight Riders' (KKR) slow over-rate, a breach for IPL's code of conduct

The ongoing IPL 2024 season has been marred by a recurring issue – slow over-rates. Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) find themselves at the center of this problem once again, with captain Shreyas Iyer facing a potential fine of INR 24 lakh for his second offense.

During their recent nervy win over the Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB), KKR failed to bowl their allotted 20 overs within the stipulated 90 minutes. This marks their second such violation this season, having committed the same offense earlier against Rajasthan Royals (RR). For the first offense, Iyer was fined INR 12 lakh. However, repeat offenders face a steeper penalty, doubling the initial fine amount.

More on IPL 2024

This incident highlights the growing concern around slow over-rates in the IPL. It disrupts the flow of the game, disadvantages the batting team, and unnecessarily extend the match duration for viewers. The BCCI (Board of Control for Cricket in India) has implemented a system of fines to deter such behavior, but it seems to be having a limited effect on KKR.

Notably, KKR captain Shreyas Iyer is likely to get fined INR 24 lakh as his team failed to finish 20 overs before the stipulated 90 mins second time this season. Iyer was fined INR 12 lakhs when KKR made offense first time vs. RR. Write me an article on this.

List of captains with slow over-rate fines

Shreyas Iyer is likely to join his former Delhi Capitals (DC) teammate Rishabh Pant on the list of captains with two IPL slow over-rate offences. Apart from this, Shubman Gill (GT), Sanju Samson (RR), Ruturaj Gaikwad (CSK), and Hardik Pandya (MI) have all been fined once in IPL 2024 so far.

Shubman GillGujarat Titans1
Rishabh PantDelhi Capitals2
Sanju SamsonRajasthan Royals1
Shreyas IyerKolkata Knight Riders2*
Hardik PandyaMumbai Indians1
Ruturaj GaikwadChennai Super Kings1

Check out our latest web stories


Editors pick

Time's up for Faf du Plessis? Will RCB begin hunt for new captain again ahead of IPL 2025?
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?
Look at MS Dhoni’s iconic hairstyles in IPL Most Memorable Sunil Chhetri Moments India’s jerseys in every T20 World Cup India’s jerseys in each edition of T20 World Cup IPL 2024 controversies