Gaikwad-Gill batting masterclass & Washington’s Ati-Sundar performance give India 2-1 lead vs Zimbabwe

Gaikwad-Gill batting masterclass & Washington’s Ati-Sundar performance give India 2-1 lead vs Zimbabwe

India are now ahead in the series 2-1, with two matches still left to be played. Just like the first three games, the three remaining matches will also be played at the Harare Sports Club.

Shubman Gill’s young Indian team has taken the lead in the India vs Zimbabwe 5-match T20I series. Having gone down 0-1 in the series following a tough 13-run defeat on July 6, Team India is now on a 2-match win streak after winning the India vs Zimbabwe 3rd T20I by 23 runs. The 100-run victory three days ago was special for Abhishek Sharma, but today it was captain Gill himself, Ruturaj Gaikwad, and Washington Sundar. The only chink in India’s armor has been their issue of failing to clean up Zimababwe’s tail. In the first match, they won due to a late order run, and today, they ensured to play out the overs despite being 5 down in just 7 overs.

Gill & Gaikwad take India to 182

Making four changes to their team, it was Yashasvi Jaiswal who opened with Shubman Gill for India. The opening partnership break-up worked well for India as Jaiswal and Gill stitched up a 67-run stand. But Abhishek Sharma failed to carry the centurion momentum with him as he departed for 10.

However, unlike Abhishek, Ruturaj Gaikwad carried his form. After his 77 in July, he smashed a 28-ball 49. Known for his steady batting, the Chennai Super Kings was at his brutal best today, ending up as India’s fastest striker (175). Gill and Gaikwad were together for a 72-run partnership that ended after Gill skied one in the air when batting at 66.

Gaikwad continued and was dismissed one run short of his half-century on the second-last ball of the inning. Sanju Samson stayed in for just 7 balls but maximized his brief stay, scoring 12 runs.

Latest on India vs Zimbabwe

Sundar washes Zimbabwe away

Defending 183, India couldn’t have asked for a better start. Avesh Khan struck on the first ball, sending Wessly Madhevere to the hut. Taking inspiration, Khaleel Ahmed, who hadn’t been at his best in the first T20I and was subsequently dropped from the last match, got a wicket in the very next over.

Then, fielding at point, Ravi Bishnoi took a stunner to get Zimbabwe down three. No wickets were lost until the powerplay ended, but not much was scored either. However, the biggest wicket of them all, Sikandar Raza, fell in the first over after the break.

The highest wicket-taker of the series, Washington Sundar, struck not once or twice but thrice. He started with a double wicket over and ended his spell with a wicket as well. Ravi Bishnoi, who was India’s best in the first two matches, conceded 37 runs and was the only main bowler to end up wicketless. Khaleel Ahmed was the most economical bowler (1/15), while Avesh Khan took two wickets but went for plenty (2/39).


Editors pick

Gambhir-Agarkar call to decide Hardik Pandya's role in IND vs SL series
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?