Ranji Trophy 2024: Everything you need to know about India’s domestic tournament

Ranji Trophy 2024: Everything you need to know about India’s domestic tournament

A total of 38 teams will compete in Ranji Trophy 2024 starting on January 5. Check out all you need to know about the tournament.

India’s domestic season is back as Ranji Trophy 2024 will start on Friday, 5 January. Day first of the tournament will witness clashes between Gujarat vs. Tamil Nadu, Karnataka vs. Punjab, and Haryana vs. Rajasthan. The title is currently held by Saurashtra.

When will Ranji Trophy 2024 start?

The next season of Ranji will premiere on January 5. The Plate final is set for February 17, and the Elite final is set to begin on March 10.

What time will Ranji Trophy 2024 matches start?

The Ranji Trophy matches like last season will start at 9:30 AM IST with the toss taking place 30 minutes in advance at 9 AM IST. All the league stage matches will be played in a four-day format, while the knock-out rounds will be contested as five-day matches.

Where to watch Ranji Trophy matches in 2024?

You can watch the tournament on Viacom18 channels on TV in India.

How to watch Ranji Trophy live streaming?

Jio Cinema will live stream the tournament for you to watch on your mobile phone.

Which team currently have the Ranji Trophy?

Saurashtra had won the title last year. In the captaincy of Jaydev Unadkat, Saurashtra defeated Bengal to win their second Ranji trophy win.

Ranji Trophy 2024 Groups

Elite Group A: Haryana, Jharkhand, Maharashtra, Manipur, Rajasthan, Saurashtra, Services, Vidarbha

Elite Group B: Andhra, Assam, Bengal, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Kerala, Mumbai, Uttar Pradesh

Elite Group C: Chandigarh, Goa, Gujarat, Karnataka, Punjab, Railways, Tamil Nadu, Tripura

Elite Group D: Baroda, Delhi, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, Madhya Pradesh, Odisha, Puducherry, Uttarakhand

Plate Group: Nagaland, Hyderabad, Meghalaya, Sikkim, Mizoram, Arunachal Pradesh

What are elite and plate categories in Ranji Trophy?

There are two categories in the Ranji Trophy; Plate and Elite. Thirty-two teams compete in the Elite stage, while the remaining six teams compete in the Plate division. These two categories are meant to prevent the tournament’s quality from declining and clubs from competing solely for the chance to advance or out of fear of relegation.


Editors pick

KKR vs SRH Live, Qualifier 1: Iyer & Iyer take charge, KKR need 31 more
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?
Worst collapses of India Cricket Team in recent times Top records Virat Kohli might never be able to break Top 5 batters with most runs in 2023 Highest scores by No. 9 PAK batters vs AUS across formats WATCH: Hardik Pandya shares recovery progress ahead of IPL 2024 return