Orange cap winners in each season of IPL

Orange cap winners in each season of IPL

Virat Kohli holds the record for scoring the highest runs in a single season.

The rise of global cricket leagues has opened new opportunities for cricketers to shine. In the fast-paced T20 format, batters enjoy the freedom to showcase their stroke play. Competitions like the IPL award the Orange Cap to the tournament’s top run-scorer.

The battle for the leading run-scorer is always intense, with batters competing fiercely. Scoring large amounts of runs remains a challenging pursuit, leading to monumental records. The 17th edition of the IPL has seen a fierce contest among batters, with the Orange Cap frequently changing hands.

Orange Cap holder in each IPL season

2008Shaun Marsh616KXIP
2009Matthew Hayden572CSK
2010Sachin Tendulkar618MI
2011Chris Gayle608RCB
2012Chris Gayle733RCB
2013Michael Hussey733CSK
2014Robin Uthappa660KKR
2015David Warner562SRH
2016Virat Kohli973RCB
2017David Warner641SRH
2018Kane Williamson735SRH
2019David Warner692SRH
2020KL Rahul670KXIP
2021Ruturaj Gaikwad635CSK
2022Jos Buttler 863RR
2023Shubman Gill890GT

IPL Latest News

Most runs in each season of IPL

From Matthew Hayden and Sachin Tendulkar to Jos Buttler, many top-tier cricketers have won the IPL Orange Cap. Notably, David Warner is the only player to have claimed the Orange Cap three times—in 2015, 2017, and 2019. Meanwhile, “The Universe Boss” Chris Gayle won it twice, in 2011 and 2012.

Shaun Marsh remains the only uncapped player to clinch the award, doing so in 2008 at the age of 24. The Lucknow Super Giants, introduced in 2022, are the only franchise yet to win the coveted Orange Cap. With IPL 2024 approaching, it will be interesting to see which batter shines this season.


Editors pick

Gautam Gambhir one step closer to becoming India head coach, finishes first round of interview with CAC
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?