No Virat Kohli yet, Rohit Sharma & Co toil hard ahead of India vs Bangladesh T20 World Cup warm-up

No Virat Kohli yet, Rohit Sharma & Co toil hard ahead of India vs Bangladesh T20 World Cup warm-up

Despite spending two months playing in the IPL 2024 season, players showed no signs of fatigue as they practiced for three hours at the Nassau Stadium.

Team India’s preparations for the India vs Bangladesh warm-up game are in full flow. With just two days left before their only practice match, the Indian contingent, led by Rohit Sharma, spent three hours in the nets to acclimatize to the conditions. Virat Kohli, the only member of the squad who wasn’t practicing, has left India and will join the team very soon. This was the India cricket team’s second full-fledged practice session at Cantiague Park, having spent yesterday as well gearing up for the T20 World Cup 2024.

Hardik toils hard

The Indian vice-captain, Hardik Pandya, spent the most time in the nets. He bowled for one hour straight and then later returned to bat towards the end of the three-hour net session. Suffering from poor form, the pace-bowling all-rounder would love to return to his best in the India vs Bangladesh warm-up game on June 1 and continue that going forward into the group stage and beyond.


Light training for Jaiswal, Rinku, Chahal & Avesh

Players from the second batch that arrived on May 27 didn’t spend much time in the nets. Rinku Singh, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Yuzvendra Chahal, and Avesh Khan were present with Team India, but due to their late arrival and jet lag, they underwent light training drills instead of intense net practice.

Team India

Arshdeep & Siraj bat alongside Rohit & Surya

Rohit Sharma and Suryakumar Yadav were the first ones to start their batting practice against Jasprit Bumrah, Ravindra Jadeja, Hardik Pandya, and Kuldeep Yadav. Alongside the two star batters, bowlers Arshdeep Singh and Mohammed Siraj also spent some time honing their batting skills. Then it was the all-rounder’s turn to pick up the bat. Jadeja, Axar Patel, and Shivam Dube spent time getting used to the conditions.

India’s squad for T20 World Cup

Rohit Sharma (c), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Sanju Samson (wk). Hardik Pandya (vc), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh , Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj.


Editors pick

LSG's Jonty Rhodes to become India's new fielding coach: Reports
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?