Mohit Sharma has an IPL record that will be difficult to break

Mohit Sharma has an IPL record that will be difficult to break

Mohit Sharma conceded 73 runs in his spell of four overs in DC vs GT encounter, where he was smashed for 31 runs by Rishabh Pant in last over.

This IPL 2024 has been nothing short of a nightmare for the bowlers. Right from conceding the highest scores in the tournament, to managing to give away the most runs in a spell, this tournament has seen it all. On Wednesday, during the DC vs GT encounter, it was the latter, where Gujarat Titans bowler Mohit Sharma gave away 73 runs for no wickets in his four overs.

Most Expensive Spell

Apart from the most expensive spell in the IPL history, Mohit happened to bowl one of the most expensive 20th over in IPL history as well, where Delhi skipper Rishabh Pant punished him for 31 runs. That meant, the southpaw remained unbeaten on 88 from 43 balls. Not just that, he is also only the second bowler in the history of IPL to concede 70 or more runs.

BowlerRuns ConcededOpposition
Mohit Sharma0/73Delhi Capitals
Basil Thampi0/70Royal Challengers Bengaluru
Yash Dayal0/69Kolkata Knight Riders
Reece Topley1/68Sunrisers Hyderabad

Overall Record

Thampi had given 70 runs for no wickets in 2018 against SRH. The next on the list is Yash Dayal, who ended up giving 69 vs KKR. Once again, this year, Reece Topley conceded 68 vs SRH. As far as the most expensive figures in the 20th over is concerned, Mohit’s 31 is right up there in the list. The record is held by Harshal Patel, who gave away 37 runs for RCB vs CSK.


Editors pick

Why Team India needs a Guru and not a foreign master as new head coach
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?