Last man standing: Rohit Sharma only player in India’s T20 World Cup winning squad

Last man standing: Rohit Sharma only player in India’s T20 World Cup winning squad

Rohit Sharma is the lone survivour from the T20 World Cup 2007 winning squad as almost all the players have retired.

India has announced their squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024, with Rohit Sharma being the only player who has made it to the current squad from the T20 World Cup 2007, when India won the trophy. Interestingly, Ajit Agarkar, who is now a selector for the Indian team, was in the squad with Rohit in 2007. Apart from the 37-year-old right-handed batter and Dinesh Karthik, all the other winning squad members have retired from cricket.

T20 World Cup 2007 was a breakout tournament for Rohit Sharma

India found a gem of a player with their T20 World Cup 2007 victory. The ‘Men in Blue’ were a young squad led by a new captain, MS Dhoni. Rohit Sharma was given the opportunity to shine. In his three matches, he amassed 88 runs and went unbeaten.

Notably, the ‘Hitman’ has featured in every edition of the T20 World Cup squad. In 2022, he played as the captain of the team.

Rohit Sharma News

Will it be last T20 World Cup for Rohit Sharma?

Rohit has turned 37 years old today, on April 30. This will be his ninth edition of the T20 World Cup, and it is most probably his last, as the tenth edition will be held in 2026.

There were speculations that selectors would like to field a new team akin to the 2007 World Cup squad. However, Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli could not be avoided in such a big campaign. It is also possible that Rohit Sharma was keen to have one last chance to guide India to an ICC trophy under his captaincy.

India T20 World Cup 2007 squad

MS Dhoni (captain and wicket-keeper), Yuvraj Singh (vice-captain), Ajit Agarkar, Piyush Chawla, Gautam Gambhir, Harbhajan Singh, Joginder Sharma, Dinesh Karthik, Yusuf Pathan, Irfan Pathan, Virender Sehwag, Rohit Sharma, RP Singh, S. Sreesanth, Robin Uthappa.

India T20 World Cup 2024 squad

Rohit (C), Kohli, Jaiswal, Surya, Pant (WK), Samson (WK), Hardik (VC), Dube, Jadeja, Axar, Kuldeep, Chahal, Arshdeep, Bumrah and Siraj.


Editors pick

India 'undercooked' for Super 8? Rohit Sharma & Co get no gametime as rain spoils match vs Canada
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?