Kensington Oval to Central Broward Park: All you need to know about T20 World Cup stadiums

Kensington Oval to Central Broward Park: All you need to know about T20 World Cup stadiums

West Indies and USA will be hosting the upcoming marquee event. Check out all the necessary details regarding T20 World Cup stadiums.

The T20 World Cup is less than a week away. As many as 20 teams will be playing in 9 different venues with 55 matches to be played. The T20 World Cup is being hosted by West Indies and USA jointly. Let us take a look at all the T20 World Cup stadiums.

T20 World Cup stadiums

Grand Prairie StadiumDallas, USA 
 Nassau County International Cricket StadiumNew York, USA 
 Central Broward ParkFlorida, USA 
 Sir Vivian Richards StadiumAntigua and Barbuda
 Kensington OvalBridgetown, Barbados 
 Providence StadiumGeorgetown, Guyana 
Daren Sammy Cricket Stadium Gros Islet, Saint Lucia 
 Brian Lara Cricket AcademyTrinidad and Tobago 
 Arnos Vale Stadium Kingstown, Saint Vincent

T20 World Cup venues

Grand Prairie Stadium

Capacity: 15,000
Inauguration: 2008
Fixtures: USA vs Canada (June 1), Nepal vs the Netherlands (June 4), USA vs Pakistan (June 6), Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka (June 7)

Opened in May 2008, it was the home stadium for the Texas AirHogs of the American Association of Professional Baseball from 2008 to 2019 and for the USL League Two soccer team Texas United from 2017 to 2019.The Venue will host four matches in T20 World Cup 2024.

Nassau County International Cricket Stadium

Capacity: 34,000
Inauguration: 2024
Fixtures: Sri Lanka vs South Africa (June 3). India vs Ireland (June 5), Canada vs Ireland (June 7). the Netherlands vs South Africa (June 8). India vs Pakistan (June 9). Bangladesh vs South Africa (June 10). Canada vs Pakistan (June 11)

The newly constructed modular stadium is situated on the grounds of Eisenhower Park in East Meadow in Long Island, New York. The venue will host its first game on June 3 when Sri Lanka face South Africa.

Central Broward Park

Capacity: 25,000
Inauguration: 2007
Fixtures: Nepal vs Sri Lanka (June 11), USA vs Ireland (June 14), Canada vs India (June 15), Ireland vs Pakistan (June 16)

Central Broward Park was the first cricket pitch in the U.S. to be certified by the International Cricket Council (ICC) for hosting international matches. It held its first international Twenty20 series in 2010 with teams from New Zealand and Sri Lanka.

Sir Vivian Richards Stadium

Capacity: 10,000
Inauguration: 2007
Fixtures: Oman vs Scotland (June 9), Australia vs Namibia (June 11), England vs Oman (June 13), England vs Namibia (June 15), A2 vs D1 (June 19), B2 vs D2 (June 20), A1 vs D2 (June 22), C2 vs D1 (June 23)

The stadium is named after former West Indies cricket team captain Viv Richards. The stadium was given as a gift by China to the Antiguan Government ahead of the 2007 World Cup.

Kensington Oval

Capacity: 28,000
Inauguration: 1882
Fixtures: Namibia vs Oman (June 2), England vs Scotland (June 4), Australia vs Oman (June 5), Namibia vs Scotland (June 6), Australia vs England (June 8), C1 vs A1 (June 20), A2 vs C2 (June 21), A2 vs B1 (June 23), final (June 29)

The Kensington Oval Cricket Stadium has a capacity of about 28,000 seated spectators, making it one of the biggest venues in the West Indies. The stadium has average boundary lengths, with the straight boundaries about 64–65 metres long and the square boundaries at 67–68 metres.

Daren Sammy Stadium

Capacity: 15,000
Inauguration: 2003
Fixtures: Australia vs Scotland (June 15). the Netherlands vs Sri Lanka (June 16). West Indies vs Afghanistan (June 17). B1 vs C2 (June 19), B1 vs D1 (June 21), B2 vs A1 (June 24).

The Daren Sammy Cricket Ground, located near Gros Islet, Saint Lucia, has a seating capacity of 13,000. Completed in 2002, it hosts the Windward Islands’ domestic matches and staged its first international Test in 2003 against Sri Lanka.

Arnos Vale Stadium

Capacity: 18,000
Inauguration: 1981
Fixtures: Bangladesh vs Netherlands (June 13), Nepal vs South Africa (June 14), Bangladesh vs Nepal (June 16), C1 vs B2 (June 23), C1 vs D2 (June 24)

Located in Arnos Vale, just outside Kingstown, the stadium holds a capacity of 18,000 people and is a multiuse venue, mostly used for football alongside cricket. The first international game was staged there in 1981 between the West Indies and England.

Brian Lara Cricket Academy

Capacity: 15,000
Inauguration: 2007
Fixtures: West Indies vs New Zealand (June 12), Afghanistan vs Papua New Guinea (June 13), New Zealand vs Papua New Guinea (June 17), first semifinal (June 26)

The host venue for the islands is located in Tarouba on the outskirts of San Fernando in southern Trinidad. It replaced Guaracara Park in Pointe-a-Pierre as Trinidad and Tobago’s premier cricket ground in 2008.


Editors pick

India 'undercooked' for Super 8? Rohit Sharma & Co get no gametime as rain spoils match vs Canada
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?