Confirmed! Former IPL star James Franklin replaces Dale Steyn as SRH’s pace bowling coach

Confirmed! Former IPL star James Franklin replaces Dale Steyn as SRH’s pace bowling coach

Steyn has been the Sunrisers' bowling coach since 2022 and has helped nurture fast bowlers like Umran Malik and T Natarajan during his stint.

Former New Zealand all-rounder and Mumbai Indians (MI) player James Franklin has replaced Dale Steyn as Sunrisers Hyderabad’s (SRH) pace bowling coach for the IPL 2024 season. The reports of Steyn pulling out of the upcoming season had emerged just two days ago, with him citing personal reasons behind his absence. 

Fast-bowling all-rounder by trade, Franklin used to represent the MI in the 2011 and 2012 seasons. Although he has no prior experience coaching in the Indian Premier League (IPL), he has a formidable coaching resume. The former Kiwi cricketer has had success coaching stints in county cricket (Middlesex and Durham) and franchise cricket (Islamabad United and Birmingham Phoenix). 

Another thing that bodes well for James Franklin is his friendship with SRH head coach Daniel Vettori. Not only were the two former players teammates in the New Zealand cricket team, but they have also worked together as coaches at Middlesex and Birmingham Phoenix.

IPL 2024: SRH schedule

Match 1: March 23 – Kolkata Knight Riders vs Sunrisers Hyderabad, Kolkata (7:30 PM IST)

Match 2: March 27 – Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Mumbai Indians, Hyderabad (7:30 PM IST)

Match 3: March 31 – Gujarat Titans vs Sunrisers Hyderabad, Ahmedabad (3:30 PM IST)

Match 4: April 5 – Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Chennai Super Kings, Hyderabad (7:30 PM IST)

Sunrisers Hyderabad Full Squad

Abdul Samad, Abhishek Sharma, Aiden Markram (c), Marco Jansen, Rahul Tripathi, Washington Sundar. Glenn Phillips, Sanvir Singh, Heinrich Klaasen, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mayank Agarwal, T. Natarajan, Anmolpreet Singh, Mayank Markande, Upendra Singh Yadav, Umran Malik, Nitish Kumar Reddy. Fazalhaq Farooqi, Shahbaz Ahmed , Travis Head, Wanindu Hasaranga, Pat Cummins, Jaydev Unadkat, Akash Singh, Jhathavedh Subramanyan.


Editors pick

LSG vs DC Highlights: Rishabh Pant & Kuldeep Yadav light Lucknow Super Giants on fire at Ekana
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?
Controversy, thy name is Pandya Virat-Rohit bromance moments Best yorkers of IPL 2024 Players who have featured for both teams RCB and RR Longest sixes in IPL 2024 so far