Paris 2024

India cricket team’s record in T20 World Cup Super 8

India cricket team’s record in T20 World Cup Super 8

It looks like there have been many more lows than highs for Team India when it comes to the Super Eight stage of the T20 World Cup.

Just like its unstable nature, the T20 World Cup has seen many changes in formats. We have witnessed Super 8, Super 10, Super 12, and many more. Looking at the current edition, the T20 World Cup 2024 has returned with the Super Eight format after 12 long years, last used in 2012.

After that tournament, there was an expansion to the Super 10 and then Super 12 formats. Since this format has been reintroduced and the Indian cricket team has qualified for this stage. Anticipation is high this time regarding what we can expect from the Men in Blue. Let’s take a look at India’s previous Super Eight record in the T20 World Cup.

India’s overall record in T20 World Cup Super 8

Total matches12
Win %33.33%
Loss %66.67%

In the past, India has struggled during this stage, having played 12 games and achieved success in just four of them. This shows that the Men in Blue have experienced more lows than highs in the Super Eights. Apart from the inaugural T20 World Cup in 2007, where the Indian team achieved massive success by winning the tournament, India faced rough patches in other editions where the Super Eight format was used.

India’s year-by-year record in Super 8

2007321MS Dhoni
2009303MS Dhoni
2010303MS Dhoni
2012321MS Dhoni

India’s record in 2007 T20 World Cup Super 8 stage

In the 2007 T20 World Cup, where the Super Eight format was used. India qualified for Group E along with New Zealand, South Africa, and England in the Super Eights. Although they lost the game against New Zealand by 10 runs, they bounced back by winning against South Africa and England. Eventually, they topped the group and went on to win the World Cup by beating Pakistan in the final.

India’s record in 2009 T20 World Cup Super 8 stage

Just two years later, in 2009, the format was called up again. And India got the spot in Group E one more time. However, this time, everything turned around as the team consistently failed. Losing all three games against the West Indies and England and then failing to chase down just 131 runs against South Africa.

India’s record in 2010 T20 World Cup Super 8 stage

Same story plot as in 2009, India didn’t enjoy much success, or any to speak of. In the 2010 T20 World Cup, especially in the Super Eight stage. After qualifying for Group F of the Super Eight, they first suffered a major blow against mighty Australia losing the game by a big 49-run margin. They then went on to lose to the West Indies. And also suffered another defeat against Sri Lanka, leading them out of the knockout stage doors.

India’s record in 2012 T20 World Cup Super 8 stage

In 2012, the last time the format was used, India found themselves in Group F. However, Australia defeated them in the first Super Eight game by nine wickets. Although Team India bounced back with victories over arch-rivals Pakistan and South Africa, But the poor run rate, which they received as a gift from Australia in the first Super Eight game, allowed Pakistan ‘In’ to advance along with Australia, knocking India ‘Out’ of the 2009 T20 World Cup.


Editors pick

IPL franchises ready to buy stakes in The Hundred, ECB unwilling to cede full control
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?