Paris 2024

IND vs ZIM: RR benefit the most, multi-time champions CSK & KKR stars miss out on potential debuts

IND vs ZIM: RR benefit the most, multi-time champions CSK & KKR stars miss out on potential debuts

Which IPL franchise's player got rewarded the most in the first T20I between India and Zimbabwe?

The first T20I against Zimbabwe saw India hand debuts to three exciting youngsters, showcasing their commitment to building for the future. While there was a chance for six players to make their international bow, the final selection narrowed down to Abhishek Sharma, Riyan Parag, and Dhruv Jurel, all of whom impressed during IPL 2024.

How Abhishek, Parag & Jurel earn their place

Securing his place at the top of the order was the swashbuckling Abhishek Sharma. He amassed a staggering 484 runs in IPL 2024, playing for Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) with a phenomenal strike rate of 204.22. His left-handed power-hitting and handy left-arm spin made him a clear favorite for a debut.

Joining Abhishek in the batting group was Riyan Parag. The explosive batter from showcased his talent throughout the IPL, where he repaid the faith shown on him by the Rajasthan Royals (RR). Parag gave a fitting testament to his immense talent, mustering 573 runs (the third-most in the tournament).

Dhruv Jurel, the wicketkeeper-batter from RR as well, also received his T20I cap. While he might not have dominated the IPL with the bat, his wicket-keeping skills and experience in whites (having played 3 Tests for India earlier this year) solidified his selection.

Harshit Rana hard done by?

However, three other players who had a strong showing in IPL 2024 as well missed out on their debuts. Young right-arm pacer Harshit Rana, who impressed for Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), couldn’t find a place in the playing XI. He was one of the many reasons why KKR lifted their third title. He is an all-phase bowler and has that extra pace in him that might be missing otherwise. However, Shubman Gill-led side stuck with the experience of Avesh Khan, at least for the first T20I.

Similarly, Tushar Deshpande, the experienced spinner from Chennai Super Kings, and Sai Sudharsan, the promising opener from Gujarat Titans, had to wait for their turn. With a long series ahead, there’s still a chance for them to make their mark in the upcoming matches.

This first T20I marked a significant moment for Indian cricket. While established veterans like Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli were rested, the focus shifted towards grooming young talent. The debuts of Sharma, Parag, and Jurel are a testament to India’s commitment to building a strong team for the future.


Editors pick

India squad for Sri Lanka: Surya pips fragile Hardik for T20I captaincy, Rohit-Kohli return in ODIs
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?