Hardik Pandya & Virat Kohli in T20 World Cup squad, no surprise inclusions expected: Report

Hardik Pandya & Virat Kohli in T20 World Cup squad, no surprise inclusions expected: Report

While the Indian squad for the T20 World Cup is not out yet, it is generally believed that there won't be any surprises in the team.

The Indian selection committee might not go with any new faces for the T20 World Cup 2024, that will begin on June 2 in the USA & West Indies, as per a report in PTI. With the provisional squad to be out latest by May 1, the Ajit Agarkar-led panel will stick with the regular players for the upcoming tournament.

“There would not be any experimentation or left-field selections. All those who have played for India and have done well consistently in T20 Internationals and the IPL will be rewarded,” a BCCI source told PTI on conditions of anonymity.

No Doubt Over Hardik Pandya & Virat Kohli

While there were questions raised over Hardik’s form, but now it turns out that he will go through in the T20 World Cup squad. Similarly, Virat is all but through. The other automatic selections are Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Ravindra Jadeja, Rishabh Pant, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammed Siraj and Kuldeep Yadav.

Rinku Singh vs Shivam Dube

Shubman Gill and Yashasvi Jaiswal, only one out of the two might get the nod for the reserve opener’s spot. If the duo get selected, then one among Rinku Singh and Shivam Dube might miss out. On the other hand, there is a tough call for the second keeper’s choice where Sanju Samson has some competiton with Ishan Kishan and KL Rahul. Although Hardik Pandya’s bowling fitness remains a concern, there is ‘no immediate doubt on his selection. “Much like him, Virat Kohli’s inclusion is also a formality,” the source said.

Probable India Squad for T20 World Cup

Rohit Sharma, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rinku Singh, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Shivam Dube, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Rishabh Pant, KL Rahul and Sanju Samson, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan.


Editors pick

KKR vs SRH LIVE Updates: Hyderabad bowled out for 113, lowest total of IPL final
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?