Virat Kohli to dethrone Sri Lankan legend in most fours in T20 World Cup list

Virat Kohli to dethrone Sri Lankan legend in most fours in T20 World Cup list

From Mahela Jayawardene to Virat Kohli, here is the complete list of most fours in the T20 World Cup history.

As the T20 World Cup 2024 has begun with a bang, featuring an exciting opening clash between the USA and Canada where sixes and fours were flying, the tournament showcases explosive batters who specialize in hitting boundaries. Virat Kohli is a legend in the T20 World Cup, holding several major records in the tournament. He is also set to overtake Sri Lanka’s Mahela Jayawardene on the list of most fours in T20 World Cup history.

The former Sri Lankan opener amassed 111 fours over his 31-inning T20 World Cup career. However, his reign at the top is under threat, as the legendary Virat Kohli is poised to overtake him. Kohli, who will compete in the upcoming T20 World Cup in the West Indies and the United States, has already hit 103 fours in just 25 innings across the past five editions.

Most fours in T20 World Cup history

1Mahela JayawardeneSri Lanka31101611125
2Virat KohliIndia27114q10328
3TM DilshanSri Lanka3589710120
4Rohit SharmaIndia369639135
5David WarnerAustralia348068631
6Chris GayleWest Indies319497861
7Jos ButtlerEngland277996933
8Kane WilliamsonNew Zealand256996814
9Brendon McCullumNew Zealand256376719
10Kumar SangakkaraSri Lanka316616311

Former Sri Lankan opener T Dilshan holds the third spot. He has past the boundary 101 times during his 34-match T20 World Cup career.

Indian opener Rohit Sharma, who has participated in every edition of the T20 World Cup so far, is in the fourth spot. The current Indian skipper has scored 91 fours in his 36-inning career over the past 17 years.


Editors pick

Predicted India Playing XI: Kuldeep to return, Siraj out of IND vs AFG?
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?