Former World no.1 T20I bowler receives ‘Grade C’ BCCI central contract

Former World no.1 T20I bowler receives ‘Grade C’ BCCI central contract

The national body removed Shreyas Iyer and Ishan Kishan from the annual retaindership contract list despite both of them featuring in India's ODI World Cup campaign last year.

23-year-old India spinner Ravi Bishnoi has been included in the Garde C of the BCCI Central Contracts. However, this came as a surprise after Bishnoi was ranked Number 1 in the ICC rankings as a T20 bowler. The national body announced the central contracts for the cricketers for the following year on 28th February.

Bishnoi has been handed his maiden BCCI Central Contract and has been placed in the final grade C, which consists of others who have impressed the most in the T20 formats. Tilak, Gaikwad, Dube, Jitesh, Mukesh, Prasidh, Avesh and Patidar also find themselves as new entrants in Grade C.

Ravi Bishnoi ranked as the No. 1 bowler in T20I ahead of BCCI Central Contract announcement:

Ravi Bishnoi emerged as the new No. 1 bowler in T20I cricket following his Player-of-the-Series performance against Australia as India secured a 4-1 victory in the T20 series. He had taken nine wickets in five games during that series, averaging 18.22.

Throughout the series against Australia, India allocated a significant portion of the bowling duties to Bishnoi during the powerplay, and it yielded positive results both in terms of wicket-taking and run containment.

As India prepare for the T20 World Cup, which will take place in the West Indies and the USA in June next year, they will rely on Bishnoi to maintain his current form. Bishnoi, who predominantly bowls googlies over leg breaks, will be crucial, especially in the West Indies where spinners can play a vital role.


Editors pick

DC vs GT: Delhi Capitals survive Rashid Khan scare to seal 4-run win
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?
Top 10 biggest rivalries in world football Players with highest individual score in IPL IPL Winners over the years Who won the last 5 El Clasico? Stadiums hosting EURO 2024