Paris 2024

England cricketers to receive MBE awards ft. Joe Root

England cricketers to receive MBE awards ft. Joe Root

From Andrew Flintoff to Joe Root, take a look at the list of English cricketers who have received the prestigious MBE awards for their contributions to English cricket.

Member of the Order of the British Empire, popularly known as MBE. Which is a reward for personalities for their contributions to the arts and sciences, sports, and other notable works. Speaking about English cricketers who have provided impressive service to the England cricket team, they have also received this honorary title by becoming Members of the Order of the British Empire. Recently, Joe Root of Yorkshire and the England cricket team received an MBE for their services to cricket. As mentioned, there have been numerous other English cricketers who have received this incredible honor from the Honours Committee of England. Let’s have a look at all the names of those who have received this honor.

England cricketers with British honour (MBE)

Joe Root 2024
Sam Curran 2023
Adil Rashid 2023 
Darren Gough2020
Jos Buttler2020
Stuart Broad2017
Kevin Pietersen2006
Andrew Flintoff2006
Bob Willis 1982 
Denis Compton1952
Alec Bedser1952

Joe Root – The new joinee

Denis Compton and Alec Bedser were the first English cricketers to receive MBEs in 1952. And since then, the tradition has continued. From Kevin Pietersen to Stuart Broad, all have received the MBE, and it’s fair to say, deservedly so. Now, Yorkshire batter and former England Test captain Joe Root, who has played 140 test matches to date. This 33-year-old batter has almost 12,000 runs in white-ball format with an average of 49.52 ,joins the elite list. It’s right to say that he deserves the honor, just like other English cricketers.


Editors pick

IPL franchises ready to buy stakes in The Hundred, ECB unwilling to cede full control
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?