Home
Cricket
Batters who have given out for obstructing the field ft. Ravindra Jadeja

Batters who have given out for obstructing the field ft. Ravindra Jadeja

After Ravindra Jadeja was dismissed for obstructing the field in a match between CSK and RR, here's other players with the same dismissal.

n cricket, there are usual ways of getting out, and then there are the most unique ways of dismissals. One such dismissal is ‘obstructing the field.’ Chennai Super Kings (CSK) all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja returned to the pavilion after the umpire dismissed him for obstructing the field in a match against Rajasthan Royals (RR) at Chepauk Stadium on Sunday.

3 batters who have given out for obstructing the field

PlayerOppenentYear
Yusuf PathanPWI2013
Amit Mishra SRH2019
Ravindra JadejaRR2024

Yusuf Pathan

Yusuf Pathan became the first player in the IPL to be given out for obstructing the field. Playing for Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), after facing a yorker from Pune Warriors’ Wayne Parnell, Pathan attempted a single. While Pathan was running, the bowler approached the ball, but Pathan used his foot to nudge it, leading to obstruction in the field.

IPL Latest News

Amit Mishra

Amit Mishra was the second victim in the DC vs SRH Eliminator match in 2013. The incident occurred in the last over when DC needed two runs to win in three balls. Mishra, wanting to get off strike, struck the ball with his right arm.

Ravindra Jadeja

Jadeja attempted two runs by playing a late cut in Avesh Khan’s bowling. After completing the first run, he ran for the second, but Ruturaj stoped him in the middle, when he chanced his diretion, Samson directed the ball to target the wickets in the non-striker end which was obstructed by him.

What is obstructing the field?

According to the MCC, “Either batter is out Obstructing the field if, except in the circumstances of 37.2, and while the ball is in play, he/she wilfully attempts to obstruct or distract the fielding side by word or action.”

“The striker is out obstructing the field if, except in the circumstances of 37.2, in the act of receiving a ball delivered by the bowler, he/she wilfully strikes the ball with a hand not holding the bat. This will apply whether it is the first strike or a second or subsequent strike. The act of receiving the ball shall extend both to playing at the ball and to striking the ball more than once in defence of his/her wicket.”

Follow
Share

Editors pick

Chennai rains likely to disrupt IPL qualifier 2 & final? Who wins in case of a washout
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?