Home
Cricket
ICC, not South Africa beat Bangladesh by 4 runs as major loophole denies Shanto’s men

ICC, not South Africa beat Bangladesh by 4 runs as major loophole denies Shanto’s men

SA vs BAN: Another ICC loophole and Bangladesh suffer. Wrong call by umpire denies 4 runs as South Africa beat Bangladesh by same margin

Bangladesh suffered a 4-run defeat at the hands of South Africa in the ICC T20 World Cup. But there is a major controversy surrounding it. A wrong decision from the umpire, followed by a reversal from the third umpire, saw 4 runs getting denied from the Asia side. In the end, this 4 runs became extremely crucial as Bangladesh lost the game by just 4 runs.

10Cric

What happened?

The incident took place in the 17th over of the game. A good ball from Ottneil Naartman saw the ball hitting the pads of Mahmudullah. A full length delivery saw the Bangladeshi batter trying to flick the ball, which hits the front pads and runs off to the boundary for four runs.

The umpire after a brief discussion with the leg umpire decides to give a lbw. Mahmudullah immediately review the decision and the hawkeye showed the ball missing the stumps and going much wide. As a result, the umpire reversed his decision. But 4 runs were not added to Bangladesh.

Why 4 runs were not added?

The reason for 4 runs being not added is relatively simple. However, the the loophole continues to exist in the ICC laws. First, it was a wrong decision by the umpire. Secondly, despite the ball reaching the fence, it is not counted as 4 runs because the ball becomes dead after the umpire’s signalling of out.

Follow
Share

Editors pick

Predicted India Playing XI: Kuldeep to return, Siraj out of IND vs AFG?
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?