Jadeja sure-shot starter, Ashwin, Axar & Umesh fight for spot in WTC Final

Team India have a combination dilemma with Axar Patel and Ravichandran Ashwin in terrific form. There is only one spot open as Ravindra Jadeja & Shardul Thakur are guaranteed starters.

Ravindra Jadeja sure-shot starter in India vs Australia, R Ashwin, Axar Patel & Umesh Yadav fight for one spot in India Playing 11 for WTC Final 2023

Rohit Sharma & Rahul Dravid have a spin conundrum for WTC Final 2023. The Oval Stadium pitch is unlikely to be a dry surface. It sported a lush green look two weeks ago and has been under wraps due to intermittent rain. Hence, Dravid-Rohit need to take a call on whether to go all in with spin trio in India Playing 11 for WTC Final or just have Ravindra Jadeja as a specialist spinner. Axar Patel is unlikely to get the nod as specialist batter. That would also mean sending Ravichandran Ashwin to the bench in India vs Australia World Test Championship Final.

Jadeja with his form and effectiveness in SENA countries is miles ahead of Ashwin in selection. His terrific batting form adds immense value. Axar on the other hand has established himself as a worthy contender for a batting spot in the lower order.

Also Read: WTC Final 2023: Gun Pacer Mohammed Shami joins Team India Today ahead of IND vs AUS clash

That leaves Ashwin in the limbo once again. India did play with all three in the Border Gavaskar Trophy. But in horses for courses formula, the trio together doesn’t fit into the plan.

With Mohammad Shami, Mohammed Siraj and Shardul Thakur guaranteed starters, India have to take a call on whether to pick an extra pacer or a spinner based on conditions.

Umesh Yadav could be a valuable addition if there is a tinge of green on Oval surface. That could essentially end any hopes of Ashwin playing another WTC Final.

Predicted India Playing XI for WTC Final 2023

  1. Rohit Sharma
  2. Shubman Gill
  3. Chetehswar Pujara
  4. Virat Kohli
  5. Ajinkya Rahane
  6. Ravindra Jadeja
  7. KS Bharat (WK)
  8. Umesh Yadav/Axar Patel/ Ravichandran Ashwin
  9. Shardul Thakur
  10. Mohammad Shami
  11. Mohammed Siraj
Ravindra Jadeja sure-shot starter in India vs Australia, R Ashwin, Axar Patel & Umesh Yadav fight for one spot in India Playing 11 for WTC Final 2023
Umesh Yadav is likely to get the nod ahead of Ravichandran Ashwin and Axar Patel

In SENA countries (South Africa, England, New Zealand and Australia), Ashwin has 70 wickets in 24 matches. He has also scored 747 runs at an average of 21.15. Jadeja on the other hand has bagged 48 wickets in 19 matches. However, he has been more successful with the bat in SENA nations, scoring 884 runs at an average of 30.48.

Axar Patel is yet to play any Test matches in SENA countries. In ODIs, he has only played in Australia while he is is yet to play in New Zealand. But his bowling record in those matches are not noteworthy. Hence, it’s his batting that will be the highlighting point. If he does play ahead of Ashwin, it will be purely based on his batting.

However, it creates a dilemma as well. With no fourth seamer to fall on to, Team India will be limited to three pacers and two spinners. As India have done in the past, it is likely that India will stick to four-seamer option with Umesh Yadav likely to get the nod ahead of the two spinners even if depletes India’s batting resources.

India Squad WTC Final: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, KS Bharat (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat

Follow InsideSport on GOOGLE NEWS / Follow IND vs AUS WTC Final Live Updates with InsideSport.IN.

Share This: