IPL 2022: New Captains, New teams will be the flavor of Season 15, 8 teams likely to change their leaders

IPL 2022: 8 teams to get new captains for 10-team IPL, Rohit Sharma & MS Dhoni only two exceptions for MI and CSK respectively
IPL 2022: 8 teams to get new captains for 10-team IPL, Rohit Sharma & MS Dhoni only two exceptions for MI and CSK respectively

IPL 2022 – 8 Teams Likely to see NEW IPL Captains? The highly-anticipated 10 teams IPL 2022 Auction is now just a few weeks away. Most of the IPL teams, including newly formed Ahmedabad and Lucknow franchises, will be looking for fresh start & new captains to lead their sides. Let’s check out status of all 10 teams & see who can lead them in Season 15? Follow IPL 2022 latest updates on InsideSport.in

With a exception of Mumbai Indians (Rohit Sharma) & Chennai Super Kings (MS Dhoni), other 8 are most likely to change or play the season with new captains on board.

IPL 2022: 8 teams to get new captains for 10-team IPL, Rohit Sharma & MS Dhoni only two exceptions

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)

  • With Virat Kohli stepping down from his role, it is still undecided that who will captain RCB in IPL 2022. The team based out of Bengaluru has already named Sanjay Bangar as their new coach for the season, but captain stays undecided.
  • Since Kohli has made it clear that he will stay with RCB for retention, AB de Villiers and Glenn Maxwell will be the other two big names that RCB could bank on for IPL 2022.
  • If the franchise chose to keep a foreign captain then both de Villiers and Maxwell are the hot favourites for the leadership role.
  • Having said that, RCB are yet to finalise any leader & can even look for some fresh buy to lead them.

IPL 2022: Sanjay Bangar replaces Simon Katich as Royal Challengers Bangalore coach, new captain yet to be named

Punjab Kings

  • With Punjab Kings failing to make it to the playoffs for the second consecutive season, the franchise is likely to part ways with KL Rahul.
  • He might be brilliant with the bat but failed to change the fortunes of his team as they finished 6th for 3rd consecutive season.
  • As per a report from Cricbuzz, KL Rahul has already played his final match for PBKS.

IPL 2021: KL Rahul & Punjab Kings set to part ways

Rajasthan Royals

  • All is not well between Sanju Samson and Rajasthan Royals. As reported earlier, Samson has reportedlly fallen apart with RR management and doesn’t wish to be retained.
  • The highest run-scorer for the ‘Halla Bol’ team is upset with something and unfollowed the official team on social media platforms.
  • Even after finishing 7th in IPL 2021, RR still wants to stick with Samson and his services.
  • Now, Samson will have to make the final call ahead of retention if he wants to continue or wants to join a new franchise.

IPL 2022 Retentions – Sanju Samson – Rajasthan Royals to part ways?

Sunrisers Hyderabad

  • Sunrisers Hyderabad had a dismal run in IPL 2021, they finished at the bottom of the table coupled with David Warner’s controversy.
  • SRH removed out-of-form Warner in the first phase of IPL 2021. He is unlikely to continue his services for the franchise.
  • The appointment of Kiwi captain Kane Williamson did not yield immediate results.
  • Williamson may be doing wonders with national squad but don’t be surprised if he gets removed as CAPTAIN of ORANGE ARMY.

Kolkata Knight Riders

  • KKR had a season full of twists & turns. They reached finals but IPL 2021 was nothing less than a topsy turvy ride for KKR.
  • After dismal first phase, things drastically changed in the UAE leg for KKR.
  • However, Eoin Morgan failed to end the 7-year-old jinx for third trophy for KKR in the final against MS Dhoni’s CSK.
  • Morgan might have performed as a leader but his own form was drastic. He scored 133 runs in 17 matches at a shocking average 11, posing a question mark on his IPL future.
  • The upcoming mega-auction gives the KKR team management to look for a new captain who can continue to lead the team with some freshness.
  • Morgan’s batting form will go against KKR as no franchise likes a leader who can’t lead from the front.

Delhi Capitals

  • With Shreyas Iyer injured for the opening leg of IPL 2021, Rishabh Pant took the job of leading the side.
  • Delhi Capitals did phenomenally well in his first season as Pant in-charge – but IPL TITLE still eluded Delhi’s squad.
  • They topped the IPL 2021 table after choosing to keep Pant as the leader despite Iyer’s return after injury.
  • It remains uncertain whether Delhi Capitals will continue with Pant or reinstate Iyer as the leader of the core group.
  • Iyer had accepted DC’s decision to continue Pant as skipper for UAE leg but said captaincy is something that he cherishes, adding it brings out his best.
  • ROLE REVERSAL is a huge possibility this time.

Shreyas Iyer opens up on playing under Rishabh Pant, ‘I respect the decision’

Ahmedabad & Lucknow

  • Ahmedabad, Lucknow obviously will start with new leader. As per the IPL Retention rules, they will be allowed to pick 3 players before the IPL Auctions.
  • One of these 3 picks is likely to lead these teams in Season 15.
  • 2 New teams will have to finalise their 3 players outside of auction between 1st December 2021 to 30th December 2021.
  • Teams can pick a maximum of two Indian players and a foreigner after the cricketers are retained by existing franchises.


IPL 2022: 8 teams to get new captains for 10-team IPL, Rohit Sharma & MS Dhoni only two exceptions

For more sports news and IPL 2022 Auction latest updates, follow us at insidesport.in