Paris 2024

Lionel Messi to lead Argentina’s Copa America 2024 squad, Angel Correa out, Alejandro Garnacho in

Lionel Messi to lead Argentina’s Copa America 2024 squad, Angel Correa out, Alejandro Garnacho in

Defending champions Argentina will kickstart the Copa America 2024 season when they take field against Canada on June 20

Argentina head coach Lionel Scaloni has named his final 26-man squad for the upcoming Copa America 2024, with veteran Lionel Messi leading the charge as captain. The tournament kicks off on June 20 in the United States, with Argentina facing Canada in their opening Group A match. Peru and Chile are the other two teams in the group.

Garnacho in, Correa out!

Scaloni waited until the very last minute to finalize his selections, with the deadline for submissions to CONMEBOL falling on the evening of Saturday. They have retained their major crop of FIFA World Cup 2022 winners, with maestros like Messi, De Paul, and Otamendi providing leadership alongside the likes of Enzo Fernandez and Julian Alvarez.

There were a few surprises in the squad. While mainstays like Enzo Fernandez, Rodrigo De Paul, and Alexis Mac Allister made the cut (unsurprisingly) for the midfield, Angel Correa was left out despite his experience (25 caps, 3 goals). Defenders Leonardo Balerdi and Valentin Barco, both with limited international appearances, were excluded from the preliminary squad as well.

With a strong squad and the reigning Copa America title to defend, Argentina will be looking to add another Copa America trophy to their cabinet. They have won 15 silverwares thus far.

Argentina squad for Copa America 2024

Goalkeepers: Franco Armani (River Plate), Geronimo Rulli (Ajax), Emiliano Martinez (Aston Villa) 

Defenders: Gonzalo Montiel (Nottingham Forest), Nahuel Molina (Atletico Madrid), Cristian Romero (Tottenham), German Pezzella (Real Betis), Lucas M. Quarta (Fiorentina), Nicolas Otamendi (Benfica), Lisandro Martinez (Manchester United), Marcos Acuna (Sevilla), Nicolas Tagliafico (Lyon)

Midfielders: Guido Rodriguez (Real Betis), Leandro Paredes (Roma), Alexis Mac Allister (Liverpool), Rodrigo De Paul (Atletico Madrid), Exequiel Palacios (Bayer Leverkusen), Enzo Fernandez (Chelsea), Giovani Lo Celso (Tottenham)

Forwards: Angel Di Maria (Benfica), Valentin Carboni (Monza), Lionel Messi (Inter Miami), Alejandro Garnacho (Manchester United), Nicolas Gonzalez (Fiorentina), Lautaro Martinez (Inter), Julian Alvarez (Manchester City).


Editors pick

IPL franchises ready to buy stakes in The Hundred, ECB unwilling to cede full control
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?