WPL Preview Match 3: Gujarat Giants looks for a turnaround from last season, face Mumbai Indians

WPL Preview Match 3: Gujarat Giants looks for a turnaround from last season, face Mumbai Indians

WPL 2024: While Mumbai Indians lifted the trophy last year, Gujarat Giants had a dreadful outing last season, as they finished last in points table.

After two tantalisingly close matches, Gujarat Giants will face defending champions Mumbai Indians in their opening WPL 2024 match on Sunday. Under the leadership of Beth Mooney, Gujarat will have their task cut out against Harmanpreet Kaur & Co., who are coming into the match after a solid last-ball victory over Delhi Capitals.

Gujarat Have a Point to Prove

After a horrific first season, where Gujarat Giants finished last in the points table, winning just two matches from eight played, the team will have to redeem itself, and put up a solid performance. This year, of course, they have the player who can deliver, with skipper Mooney, who had to miss the previous tournament due to an injury.

Then there is Laura Wolvaardt in the ranks, who is one of the best batters in the world, along with Aussie Ashleigh Gardener, the most potent all-rounder in women’s cricket currently.

Mumbai Indians Can’t be Complacent

Mumbai were lucky that Sajana S slammed a six on the last ball against Delhi’s Alice Capsey, in the first WPL match, but they still have a lot of work to do, especially in their bowling. Nat Sciver-Brunt, Hayley Matthews, and Amelia Kerr were way to expensive, and this is something they would have to work on. Plus, skipper Harman did score a fifty in the last game, but it would be a folly to say that she’s back in form.

Last year, Mumbai had won both matches against Gujarat last year, but things would be different this year. The opposition will be playing a full-strength team, and any lapses, could prove costly for Mumbai.

Gujarat Giants Squad

Ashleigh Gardner, Beth Mooney, Dayalan Hemalatha, Harleen Deol, Laura Wolvaardt, Shabnam Shakil, Sneh Rana, Tanuja Kanwar, Phoebe Litchfield, Meghna Singh, Trisha Poojitha, Kashvee Gautam (withdrawn), Priya Mishra, Lauren Cheatle (withdrawn, replaced by Lea Tahuhu), Kathryn Bryce, Mannat Kashyap, Veda Krishnamurthy, Tarannum Pathan, Sayali Sathgare.

Mumbai Indians Squad

Amanjot Kaur, Amelia Kerr, Chloe Tryon, Harmanpreet Kaur, Hayley Matthews, Humaira Kazi, Issy Wong, Jintimani Kalita, Nat Sciver-Brunt, Pooja Vastrakar, Priyanka Bala, Saika Ishaque, Yastika Bhatia, Shabnim Ismail, S Sajana, Amandeep Kaur, Fatima Jaffer, Keerthana Balakrishnan.


Editors pick

Yuzvendra Chahal creates history, becomes first player to take 200 wickets in IPL
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?