Paris 2024

WPL 2024: Stars Galore! Kareena Kapoor, Mary Kom attend Delhi Capitals’ highly contested clash against RCB

WPL 2024: Stars Galore! Kareena Kapoor, Mary Kom attend Delhi Capitals’ highly contested clash against RCB

Delhi Capitals are second in the WPL Points table with RCB at the third position

Renowned Bollywood actress Kareena Kapoor Khan graced the WPL 2024 encounter between Delhi Capitals and Royal Challengers Bangalore at the Arun Jaitley Stadium on Sunday. Accompanied by the captains Meg Lanning and Smriti Mandhana and the match referee, the 43-year-old actress participated in the coin toss ceremony before the highly anticipated match.

The hosts emerged victorious in the toss, with skipper Meg Lanning opting to bat first against the Smriti Mandhana-led RCB. The presence of legendary boxer MC Mary Kom added to the allure of the event as the home side aimed to secure their spot in the playoffs.

Both teams entered the contest placed third and fourth, with Delhi Capitals holding 8 points and RCB accumulating 6 from an equal number of games. Delhi Capitals aimed to recover from their narrow 1-run defeat against UP Warriorz in their previous fixture, while RCB sought redemption following their loss against Gujarat Giants.

Lanning and opener Shefali Verma provided a solid start for the capital city side, forming a 54-run partnership for the first wicket in the opening 7 overs. However, Verma was dismissed by compatriot Sobhana Asha after contributing 23 runs to the scoreboard.

Subsequently, skipper Lanning added 29 runs before being caught by RCB’s Indian spinner Shreyanka Patil. Jemimah Rodrigues and Alice Capsey then took over, aiming to build on the momentum aid by the openers.


Editors pick

Sairaj Bahutule to be India’s bowling coach for Sri Lanka as Morkel’s appointment delayed
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?
Look at MS Dhoni’s iconic hairstyles in IPL Most Memorable Sunil Chhetri Moments India’s jerseys in every T20 World Cup India’s jerseys in each edition of T20 World Cup IPL 2024 controversies