Paris 2024

WPL 2024 Final: RCB looks to stop Lanning’s juggernaut in their fight for ultimate glory

WPL 2024 Final: RCB looks to stop Lanning’s juggernaut in their fight for ultimate glory

Having never lost against the Royal Challengers Bangalore and playing at their home ground, the Delhi Capitals have an advantage over Smriti Mandhana's Royals.

History is on the line for the Delhi Capitals and Royal Challengers Bangalore. After failing to win the title in the men’s competition (IPL), the two strong houses will look to lift their maiden title in the WPL 2024 Final. Fresh off impressive wins, both sides will be confident of taking the prestigious WPL trophy home on March 17.

Home advantage to the Delhi Capitals?

After the completion of the first leg of the WPL 2024 season, the matches were shifted to Delhi. Playing at their home ground, the Capitals definitely have an advantage. Apart from practicing at the Arun Jaitley Stadium, the massive crowd support has uplifted Meg Lanning and Co.’s performance.

Having played four matches at their ground, DC has emerged victorious thrice. These wins also include a two-match win streak and a tight one-run win over the RCB. Similar to DC, Smriti Mandhana and Co. are also on a two-match win streak after losing their first two encounters in Delhi. This also includes their Eliminator win over the defending champions, the Mumbai Indians.

H2H and pressure of the big occasion

Although the two sides have played just four matches against each other, it’s shocking to learn that RCB has yet to beat the Capitals. This season, they have played twice and lost twice: once at their home ground, MA Chidambaram Stadium, and once at the Capitals home ground. In the last season, they lost both their encounters as well and entered the WPL 2024 Final with a negative 0-4 record.

Although Smriti Mandhana and Co. kept their nerves against Mumbai in the Eliminator, we are yet to see if they can handle the nerves of playing in a final. If we compare that to the Meg Lanning-led Capitals, they have been incredible frontrunners but buckled under pressure in last year’s final. Having already had their hearts broken, one would assume that DC will handle the pressure better.

WPL 2024 Final: Squads

Delhi Capitals Women: Meg Lanning (c), Shafali Verma, Alice Capsey, Jemimah Rodrigues, Marizanne Kapp. Annabel Sutherland, Arundhati Reddy, Minnu Mani, Taniya Bhatia, Radha Yadav, Shikha Pandey. Poonam Yadav, Titas Sadhu, Jess Jonassen, Laura Harris, Ashwani Kumari, Aparna Mondal, Sneha Deepthi.

Royal Challengers Bangalore Women: Alice Capsey, Arundhati Reddy, Jemimah Rodrigues, Jess Jonassen. Laura Harris, Marizanne Kapp, Meg Lanning (c), Minnu Mani, Poonam Yadav, Radha Yadav, Shefali Verma. Shikha Pandey, Sneha Deepthi, Taniyaa Bhatia, Titas Sadhu, Annabel Sutherland, Aparna Mondal, Ashwani Kumari.


Editors pick

BCCI official confirms Axar, Sundar to tussle for Jadeja's spot in India's Champions Trophy squad
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?
Look at MS Dhoni’s iconic hairstyles in IPL Most Memorable Sunil Chhetri Moments India’s jerseys in every T20 World Cup India’s jerseys in each edition of T20 World Cup IPL 2024 controversies