Paris 2024

Wankhede Stadium Pitch Report: Runs galore in the first IND vs ENG T20I

Wankhede Stadium Pitch Report: Runs galore in the first IND vs ENG T20I

Wankhede Stadium will yet again be at the spotlight after the epic World Cup semis clash between IND vs NZ. This time it will host IND vs ENG

India Women’s team will begin their home season by taking on England Women in a three-match T20 series starting from December 6. Both these teams have had a fair bit of history in the recent past, with Heather Knight-led England slightly edging their rivals. However, under Harmanpreet Kaur’s leadership, India have played fearless cricket and are ready to take challenges head-on. All eyes will be on the Wankhede pitch for the first T20I.

Typically, the Wankhede deck favors batters with runs coming thick & fast. The Pacers will get assistance in the power play. But one thing is guaranteed, it will be a high-scoring game. Both India & England are not short of firepower in the batting department. For the hosts, Shafali Verma, Smriti Mandhana, Harmanpreet Kaur, Jemimah Rodrigues, & Richa Ghosh. All these players have the ability to strike at over 110. 

Meanwhile, the visitors, Heather Kibgh, Nat Sciver, Alice Kapsey, and Sophia Dunkley can attack from word go. So, whichever teams bowl well will likely decide the outcome of the first T20I at the Wankhede Stadium.

Also Read


Wankhede Stadium: Batters set to dominate, as Wankhede gears up for epic clash between IND vs ENG

During the recently concluded World Cup, Wankhede hosted five matches and all were high-scoring ones. Wankhede is a typically flat wicket and also aids teams that bat second. In WC also, teams felt more comfortable while chasing. Dew will play come to play, as Winters in Mumbai are typically a bit chilly. 

160 is the average first innings score on the Wankhede surface. India have played England 27 times, with the former winning only seven times. 

IND vs ENG Squads 

India Women

Jemimah Rodrigues, Shafali Verma, Smriti Mandhana, Amanjot Kaur, Deepti Sharma, Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Kanika Ahuja, Pooja Vastrakar, Shreyanka Patil, Richa Ghosh (wk), Yastika Bhatia (wk), Mannat Kashyap, Minnu Mani, Renuka Singh, Saika Ishaque, and Titas Sadhu.

England Women

Danni Wyatt, Heather Knight (c), Maia Bouchier, Sophia Dunkley, Alice Capsey, Charlie Dean, Danielle Gibson, Natalie Sciver-Brunt, Sophie Ecclestone, Amy Jones (wk), Bess Heath (wk), Freya Kemp, Lauren Bell, Mahika Gaur, and Sarah Glenn.


Editors pick

Sairaj Bahutule to be India’s bowling coach for Sri Lanka as Morkel’s appointment delayed
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?