RCB-W vs UPW, WPL 2024: Asha’s 5-wicket haul powers RCB to thrilling win

RCB-W vs UPW, WPL 2024: Asha’s 5-wicket haul powers RCB to thrilling win

RCB-W vs UPW Highlights: Spinner Sobhana Asha picked a 5-wicket haul as RCB beat UP Warriorz by 2 runs in a thrilling WPL 2024 game.

In a thrilling encounter, RCB Women edged out UP Warriorz Women by 2 runs in the second match of the Women’s Premier League (WPL) 2024 at Chinnaswamy Stadium on Saturday.

Sobhana Asha was the hero for RCB, taking 5 for 22 in her four overs, including a crucial triple strike in the 18th over that turned the tide in their favour. UP Warriorz were cruising on back of brisk partnership between Grace Harris (38) and Shweta Sehrawat (31). But their dismissals in quick succession triggered a collapse. Poonam Khemnar (14) tried to keep the hopes alive with two boundaries in the penultimate over, but Georgia Wareham and Sophie Molineux bowled tight final overs to seal the win for RCB.

Earlier, RCB Women posted a competitive total of 157 for 6, thanks to half-centuries from Richa Ghosh (62) and Sabbhineni Meghana (53).

Playing XIs

UP Warriorz: Alyssa Healy(w/c), Sophie Ecclestone, Tahlia McGrath, Deepti Sharma, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Kiran Navgire, Vrinda Dinesh, Poonam Khemnar, Shweta Sehrawat, Grace Harris, Saima Thakor

RCB-W: Smriti Mandhana(c), Sophie Devine, Sabbhineni Meghana, Ellyse Perry, Richa Ghosh(w), Sophie Molineux, Georgia Wareham, Shreyanka Patil, Simran Bahadur, Sobhana Asha, Renuka Thakur Singh

RCB-W vs UPW Match Details

Date: February 24, 2024
Venue: M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru
Time: 7:30 PM IST
Live Streaming: JioCinema


Royal Challengers Bangalore: Smriti Mandhana (C), Asha Shobana, Disha Kasat, Ellyse Perry, Nadine de Klerk, Indrani Roy, Shradda Pokharkar, Renuka Singh, Richa Ghosh, Shreyanka Patil, Sophie Devine, Georgia Wareham, Kate Cross, Ekta Bisht, Shubha Satheesh, S Meghana, Simran Bahadur, Sophie Molineux.

UP Warriorz: Alyssa Healy(wk/c), Shweta Sehrawat, Kiran Navgire, Vrinda Dinesh, Tahlia McGrath, Grace Harris, Deepti Sharma, Sophie Ecclestone, Anjali Sarvani, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Parshavi Chopra, Gouher Sultana, Chamari Athapaththu, Saima Thakor, Laxmi Yadav, Danielle Wyatt, Soppadhandi Yashasri, Poonam Khemnar


Editors pick

Yuzvendra Chahal creates history, becomes first player to take 200 wickets in IPL
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?
Who won the last 5 El Clasico? Stadiums hosting EURO 2024 Teams with highest scores in IPL Fastest 50 in IPL Virat Kohli – Wrong footed inswinging menace