RCB W vs MI W: Mumbai Indians dominate with both bat & ball to move to the top

RCB W vs MI W: Mumbai Indians dominate with both bat & ball to move to the top

Mumbai Indians move to the top of the points table with their third win of the season in just four matches.

Utter dominance! Winning without their captain (Harmanpreet Kaur) and spearhead (Shabnim Ismail) is no problem for the Mumbai Indians. After suffering a disappointing loss in their last match, the defending champions have roared back in style in the RCB W vs MI W match. With the win, Mumbai have raced to the top and maintained their chasing streak (7-0) in the WPL.

Similar to their last match, apart from one player’s individual brilliance, no RCB batter stood. Star all-rounder Ellyse Perry rescued the team from trouble and took them to a below-par total of 131. None of their top six, barring Perry, went past the score of 12. If not for Georgia Wareham’s stand with Perry, the Royals could have less than 120 runs and be out of the match before the second inning even started.

Defending any total at Chinnaswamy is tough, but MI made short work of the chase. Yastika Bhatia came to the middle set, scoring 31 runs from just 15 balls. Her quick burst meant that Mumbai needed just 72 runs in 14 overs by the end of the powerplay. However, it was Amelia Kerr, whose all-round performance saw her score an unbeaten 40 and claim the purple cap by the end.

RCB W vs MI W: Brief Scores

Royal Challengers Bangalore Women: 131/6 (Ellyse Perry 44, Georgia Wareham 27; Pooja Vastrakar 2/14, Nat Sciver-Brunt 2/27)

Mumbai Indians Women: 133/3 (Amelia Kerr 40, Yastika Bhatia 31; Shreyanka Patil 1/15, Sophie Devine 1/16)

RCB W vs MI W: Playing XIs

Royal Challengers Bangalore Women: Smriti Mandhana (c), Sophie Devine, Sabbhineni Meghana. Ellyse Perry, Richa Ghosh (wk), Sophie Molineux, Georgia Wareham. Shreyanka Patil, Simran Bahadur, Asha Sobhana, Renuka Thakur Singh.

Mumbai Indians Women: Hayley Matthews, Yastika Bhatia (wk), Nat Sciver-Brunt (c). Amelia Kerr, Pooja Vastrakar, Issy Wong, S Sajana, Amanjot Kaur, Humaira Kazi, Keerthana Balakrishnan, Saika Ishaque.


Editors pick

LSG vs DC Highlights: Rishabh Pant & Kuldeep Yadav light Lucknow Super Giants on fire at Ekana
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?
Controversy, thy name is Pandya Virat-Rohit bromance moments Best yorkers of IPL 2024 Players who have featured for both teams RCB and RR Longest sixes in IPL 2024 so far