RCB vs DC: Jonassen & Kapp’s all-round brilliance, Verma’s fireworks take Capitals to the top

RCB vs DC: Jonassen & Kapp’s all-round brilliance, Verma’s fireworks take Capitals to the top

The Capitals move to the top of the table with the win, while the Royals slip down to the number two spot on the points table.

RCB vs DC, Match 7: Last year’s runner-ups, the Delhi Capitals, have started the WPL 2024 season superbly. After beating the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) by 25 runs, the Meg Lanning-led side have claimed their third straight win and climbed to the top of the points table. Meanwhile, the Royals have slipped down a place after a poor show from their bowling and middle-order.

After a poor bowling performance, the RCB openers started well. Skipper Smriti Mandhan and Sophie Devine added 77 for the opening stand. Mandhana continued to strike at a rapid pace despite losing Devine, scoring 74 off just 43 balls.

Sabbhineni Meghana played another slow inning, putting pressure on batters at the other end. Richa Ghosh played a small quickfire cameo, but without Elyssa Healy in the middle order, they struggled to score at a high pace.

The Delhi Capitals were nothing but amazing with the bat. After skipper Meg Lanning departed, swashbuckling opener Shafali Verma took the onus. She smashed her second consecutive fifty in the Women’s Premier League 2024 in just 31 balls, while Alice Capsey bashed a 33-ball 46.

But it was Marizanne Kapp and Jess Jonassen’s flourish at the end that ensured the Capitals put 194 on the board. Kapp scored 32 off just 16 balls, while Jonassen struck at 225 (36 off 16).

RCB vs DC: Brief Scores

Royal Challengers Bangalore Women: 169/9 (Smriti Mandhana 74, Sabbhineni Meghana 36; Jess Jonassen 3/21, Marizanne Kapp 2/35)

Delhi Capitals Women: 194/5 (Shafali Verma 50, Alice Capsey 46; Sophie Devine 2/23, Nadine de Klerk 2/35)

RCB vs DC Playing XI

Royal Challengers Bangalore Women: Smriti Mandhana (c), Sophie Devine, Sabbhineni Meghana, Richa Ghosh (wk), Nadine de Klerk, Georgia Wareham, Sophie Molineux, Shreyanka Patil, Simran Bahadur, Asha Sobhana, Renuka Thakur Singh.

Delhi Capitals WomenMeg Lanning (c), Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Alice Capsey, Marizanne Kapp, Jess Jonassen, Taniya Bhatia (wk), Arundhati Reddy, Minnu Mani, Radha Yadav, Shikha Pandey.


Editors pick

Yuzvendra Chahal creates history, becomes first player to take 200 wickets in IPL
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?