Rashid Khan returns as Afghanistan announces squad for IND vs AFG T20I series

Rashid Khan returns as Afghanistan announces squad for IND vs AFG T20I series

Ibrahim Zadran will lead the visiting side in the upcoming IND vs AFG T20I series.

Rashid Khan, Afghanistan’s regular T20I skipper, has been included for the upcoming IND vs AFG T20I series but might not feature in any game as he recovers from the back surgery he recently underwent. Meanwhile, Ibrahim Zadran, who led Afghanistan to a 2-1 series victory against the UAE in Sharjah, will continue to lead Afghanistan against India as well.

Mujeeb Ur Rahman, who was not part of the recently held three-match T20I series against UAE, comes back to the squad to face India. Ikram Alikhil, who was part of the reserves against the UAE, has been promoted to the main squad as the backup wicket-keeper batter.

We are not underdogs: ACB chief

 “We are delighted to be embarking on our maiden tour to India for a three-match series. India is the top-ranked side in the world and it’s very pleasing to witness AfghanAtalan competing in a three-match T20I against them. We believe that AfghanAtalan are no longer underdogs & have excelled well in the recent past and we look forward to a highly competitive series against India,” said ACB chairman Mirwais Ashraf.


Afghanistan squad:

Ibrahim Zadran (C), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (WK). Ikram Alikhil (WK), Hazratullah Zazai. Rahmat Shah. Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Karim Jana. Azmaullah Omarzai. Sharafuddin Ashraf. Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Fareed Ahmad, Naveen Ul Haq, Noor Ahmad, Mohammad Saleem. Qais Ahmad, Gulbadin Naib and Rashid Khan.


Editors pick

IND vs PAK T20 World Cup: Team India gets three-layer security at hotel after terror threat
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?