PSL 2024 Final: Imad Wasim’s fifer extends Multan Sultans’ final jinx as Islamabad United claim 3rd title

PSL 2024 Final: Imad Wasim’s fifer extends Multan Sultans’ final jinx as Islamabad United claim 3rd title

Islamabad is the first team to win three titles in the PSL. Having won their last two finals in 2016 and 2018, a six-year wait has worked wonders for them in 2024.

Islamabad United (ISU) has become the first team in the history of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) to win a record-breaking third title. Playing in the PSL 2024 Final against the Multan Sultans (MS), it was Imad Wasim’s brilliance with the ball and Martin Guptill’s fireworks with the bat that handed Shadab Khan’s Islamabad their first title win since 2018.

For Mohammad Rizwan’s Sultans, a promising start turned into a disappointing end. Playing in their 4th consecutive PSL Final, there wasn’t much they could do. Having won the title in 2021, MS were handed defeat at the hands of Lahore Qalandars in the last two finals and now by Islamabad as their unsuccessful final streak continues.

Imad Wasim’s hot streak continues

Building on his Eliminator 2 success, where he scored a match-winning 59, the all-rounder claimed an impressive 5-wicket haul to restrict Multan to just 159. Yasir Khan, David Willey, Johnson Charles, Khushdil Shah, and Chris Jordan all fell to his left-arm spin magic. From powerplay to the death overs, Imad struck everywhere.

While the spinner was outstanding on the field, his off-the-field actions may have landed him in trouble. Wasim was caught smoking after he left the field before the start of the 18th over. Having completed his quota of 4 overs with 5 wickets and just 23 runs given, the spinner was caught smoking in the dressing room.

PSL 2024 Final: Guptill & Naseem stand up when it matters

Playing in his third match of the PSL 2024 season, Guptill struck his second fifty. With just 160 to chase, the Kiwi opener gave Islamabad a cracking start. The right-handed batter scored a 30-ball 50 and put his side ahead in the final. Although he departed soon after, the opener had ensured that the run rate was always in control.

Azam Khan played an impressive 30-run cameo as well, but it was Naseem Shah and Imad Wasim who stood up when it mattered the most. Down 7 wickets, Naseem scored 17 while Imad worked his all-round magic, scoring 19 himself.


Editors pick

India skipper Rohit Sharma takes clear stance on IND vs PAK Test series, says 'I'm ready..'
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?
Virat Kohli – Wrong footed inswinging menace Teams with the most dropped catches in IPL 2024 IPL Teams Special Jersey Controversy, thy name is Pandya Virat-Rohit bromance moments