Player of the Match in the final of every season in IPL history

Player of the Match in the final of every season in IPL history

Discover the 'Player of the Match' in every IPL final. Explore standout performances shaping cricket history in this comprehensive list.

As the Indian Premier League (IPL) continues to captivate cricket enthusiasts around the globe, the spotlight inevitably falls on those exceptional players whose performances shine the brightest when it matters most – in the grand finale. From the inaugural season in 2008 to the most recent showdown, the title of “Player of the Match” in each IPL final marks a moment of individual brilliance amidst the intense team competition. Let’s embark on a journey through the annals of IPL history, revisiting the standout stars who etched their names in cricketing lore with their stellar displays on the biggest stage of them all.

2008RRYusuf Pathan
2009RCBAnil Kumble
2010CSKSuresh Raina
2011CSKMurali Vijay
2012KKRManvinder Bisla
2013MIKieron Pollard
2014KKRManish Pandey
2015MIRohit Sharma
2016SRHBen Cutting
2017MIKrunal Pandya
2018CSKShane Watson
2019MIJasprit Bumrah
2020MITrent Boult
2021CSKFaf du Plessis
2022GTHardik Pandya
2023CSKDevon Conway

Yusuf Pathan (2008)

Yusuf Pathan had won the maiden ‘Player of the Match’ award in inaugural season of IPL in 2008. He had scored 56 (39) and picked up 3/22 to power RR a win over CSK in final.

Anil Kumble (2009)

Even though, RCB lost the final against Deccan Charges in 2009, Anil Kumble recieved the ‘Man of the Match’ award for his excellent bowling spell of 4/16.

Suresh Raina (2010)

Raina guided Chennai Super Kings to their first IPL title in 2010 with a stunning unbeaten knock of 57* (35). He had also taken a wickets.

Murali Vijay (2011)

Murali Vijay played a brilliant knock under pressure to help Chennai Super Kings lift their second IPL trophy. He scored 95 (52) in the final.

Manvinder Bisla (2012)

Kolkata Knight Rider’s batter Manvinder Bisla was awarded ‘Player of the Match’ in IPL 2012 final. He smashed 89 (48) when KKR beat CSK by 5 wickets in final.

Kieron Pollard (2013)

Mumbai Indians had won their first IPL title in 2013. Match-winning all-rounder Kieron Pollard scored 60* (32) in the final.

Manish Pandey (2014)

Kolkata Knight Riders’ explosvie batter Manish Pandey played a brilliant knock of 94 (50) to hepl KKR defeat KXIP by 3 wickets in the IPL 2014 final.

Rohit Sharma (2015)

Rohit Sharma scored a half-century in IPL 2015 final when Mumbai Indians beat CSK by 41 runs.

Ben Cutting (2016)

Sunrisers Hyderabad’s Ben Cutting scored 39* (15) to power SRH to beat RCB in the final of IPL 2016. He had also taken two wickets by conceding 8 runs.

Krunal Pandya (2017)

Krunal Pandya stood out in the IPL 2017 final when he scored crucial 47 (38) to guide Mumbai Indians to a narrow win against Rising Pune Supergiant (RPSG) by 1 run.

Shane Watson (2018)

Australian all-rounder Shane Watson smashed a century in the IPL 2018 final. CSK have lifted the trophy by defeating SRH by 8 wickets.

Jasprit Bumrah (2019)

Jasprit Bumrah had picked up two crucial wickets in a blockbuster final against CSK. MI won the final by 1 run.

Trent Boult (2020)

In 2020, Trent Boult received the ‘Man of the Match’ in the IPL 2020 final by taking 3/30 for Mumbai Indians against Delhi Capitals.

Faf du Plessis (2021)

When Faf du Plessis was playing for Chennai Super Kings (CSK), he played a match-winning knock of 86 (59) in the IPL 2021 final to guide his team to a trophy win against KKR.

Hardik Pandya (2022)

Gujarat Titans won their maiden IPL title in their debut season. Former GT captain Hardik Pandya displayed an all-round performance in the final as GT defeated RR by 7 wickets.

Devon Conway (2023)

Devon Conway Devon Conway delivered an outstanding performance, scoring 47 runs off just 25 balls.


Editors pick

Jasprit Bumrah & Kuldeep Yadav to spearhead India's bowling contingent for T20 World Cup 2024
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?
Indian bowlers to take most 5-wicket hauls in Test cricket Indian Bowlers With Most 5-fers Against England in Tests in India Indian players to score the most runs in a Test series Bowlers Who Missed Their Maiden Test Wicket Because of No-Ball Fastest to reach 19,000 international runs by innings Players who are set to make a comeback in IPL 2024 Players with Most Runs for Mumbai Indians in the IPL Most runs for Chennai Super Kings in IPL Players to Get Out for Most Ducks Against India in Test Cricket Players to play most Test matches for India