PAK vs NZ 1st T20I: Opening match finally abandoned after 2 deliveries

PAK vs NZ 1st T20I: Opening match finally abandoned after 2 deliveries

Pakistan will continue their preparations for the T20 World Cup 2024 as they take on New Zealand in a five-match series

Just as play was about to start, rains lashed. After a significant delay, officials decided on 5-over-per side match. While Shaheen Afridi started for Pakistan, the Tim Robinson and Tim Seifert walked in to bat. The first delivery was a leg bye going for 2 runs, Shaheen dismissed Tim Robinson with an inswinger. However, rains lashed again and the game had to be called off.

New Zealand won the toss and opted to bat first in the 1st PAK vs NZ T20I. The start of the game has been delayed owing to rains. Pakistan will continue their preparations for the T20 World Cup 2024 as they take on New Zealand in a five-match series starting from Thursday. Babar Azam returns as the side’s skipper after he replaced ex-skipper Shaheen Afridi after just one series. Coincidentally, Shaheen’s first and last series as skipper was also against the Kiwis earlier this year.

PAK vs NZ Live Score

Pakistan vs New Zealand Live

Bad news! Match abandoned!

We have bad news in the middle. Heavy rains lashes again and the players have walked out. The game has been called off and it ends in a tie. Rains play a dampener!

New Zealand: 2/1 after 0.2 overs

Kiwis lose first wicket in 2 balls!

Shaheen Afridi claims his first wicket in the second delivery. Tim Robinson goes for a duck.

New Zealand: 2/1 after 0.2 overs

Players have walked into the field!

Shaheen Shah will be bowling the first over for Pakistan.

We have a 5-over-side game!

The decision is made. We will have a 5-over-per-side match. Action to start soon. Powerplay will be for first 2 overs. In the five overs, two bowlers can bowl a maximum of 2 overs each.

Good news!

The covers are coming off. Rollers are here to dry the ground.

Cut-off time

The cut-off time for a minimum 5-over a side match is 22:10 local time.

Rain stops

The latest update is that the rain has stopped for now, but the umpires will have to see if the match is fit for play. Further delay expected.

Rain again

It’s raining heavy

Start delayed

Oh ho! The rain has returned and it’s pelting down now. The start is delayed indefinitely.

New Zealand Playing XI

Tim Seifert(w), Tim Robinson, Dean Foxcroft, Mark Chapman, James Neesham, Michael Bracewell(c), Josh Clarkson, Ish Sodhi, Jacob Duffy, Ben Sears, Ben Lister

Pakistan Playing XI

Babar Azam(c), Saim Ayub, Mohammad Rizwan(w), Usman Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Irfan Khan, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Naseem Shah, Mohammad Amir, Abrar Ahmed

Babar Azam

We have a good combination, good opportunity to utilize these matches before the World Cup. We would have bowled first because of the overcast conditions and the pitch was under covers. The first six overs are going to be crucial.

Michael Bracewell

We are going to bat, looks a beautiful wicket, want to put some runs on the board. Tim Robinson makes his debut today. Looks a very good wicket.

Toss Update

Michael Bracewell wins toss, opts to bat against Pakistan.

New Zealand Squad

Tim Seifert(w), Tim Robinson, Michael Bracewell(c), Josh Clarkson, James Neesham, Mark Chapman, Jacob Duffy, Ish Sodhi, Ben Sears, William ORourke, Zakary Foulkes, Tom Blundell, Ben Lister, Dean Foxcroft, Cole McConchie

Pakistan Squad

Babar Azam(c), Saim Ayub, Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Rizwan(w), Iftikhar Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Imad Wasim, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Afridi, Usama Mir, Zaman Khan, Azam Khan, Mohammad Amir, Abrar Ahmed, Abbas Afridi, Irfan Khan, Usman Khan


Editors pick

India Champions vs Pakistan Champions Live Score: Ambati Rayudu hammers 50, takes IND closer to title
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?