Orange cap winners in each season of IPL

Orange cap winners in each season of IPL

Let's have a look at the complete list of players who have worn the 'Orange Cap' for each Indian Premier League (IPL) season.

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has given batters more freedom to hit shots fearlessly and bat freely. Batters constantly fight to topple one another in the competition to become the tournament’s leading run-scorer and shatter massive records. The competition’s top scorer receives an Orange Cap award following the IPL final. While Virat Kohli maybe the fans’ choice, it’s David Warner who has won the Orange Cap a record three times.

The IPL Orange Cap has been won by several notable players, including Matthew Hayden, Sachin Tendulkar, and Virat Kohli. David Warner won the Orange Cap in 2015, 2017, and 2019. In 2011 and 2012, “The Universe Boss” Chris Gayle won the Orange Caps back-to-back.

Australian batter Shaun Marsh, who was 24 years old at the time, is the only uncapped player to have won the Orange Cap. In the meantime, the only team that hasn’t yet taken home the IPL Orange Cap is the Lucknow Super Giants.

Shubman Gill is the latest Orange Cap winner after a grand season with Gujarat Titans.


List of IPL winners in Indian Premier League history

Players with most runs in IPL history

Most expensive bowling spells in IPL history

In last season, India’s emerging star Shubman Gill won the ‘Orange cap’ for Gujarat Titians by smashing 890 runs in the season.

2008Shaun Marsh616KXIP
2009Matthew Hayden572CSK
2010Sachin Tendulkar618MI
2011Chris Gayle608RCB
2012Chris Gayle733RCB
2013Michael Hussey733CSK
2014Robin Uthappa660KKR
2015David Warner562SRH
2016Virat Kohli973RCB
2017David Warner641SRH
2018Kane Williamson735SRH
2019David Warner692SRH
2020KL Rahul670KXIP
2021Ruturaj Gaikwad635CSK
2022Jos Buttler 863RR
2023Shubman Gill890GT

Editors pick

DRS, April 13: DC end LSG's streak, Pant turns clock back & Thala Dhoni fever rages on
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?
Players with Most Runs for Mumbai Indians in the IPL Most runs for Chennai Super Kings in IPL Players to Get Out for Most Ducks Against India in Test Cricket Players to play most Test matches for India Players who are nearing the 100 Tests milestone Players with most sixes for India in Tests Ravichandran Ashwin 500: Fastest Bowlers to Reach 500 Test Wickets Most fourth innings centuries in Test cricket Players with most runs in a session in India Players with MOST runs conceded in Test cricket