MI vs UPW: Kiran Navgire and Grace Harris power Warriorz to first win in WPL 2024

MI vs UPW: Kiran Navgire and Grace Harris power Warriorz to first win in WPL 2024

Mumbai Indians had eliminated UP from the playoffs of WPL 2023, adding anticipation to this encounter as UPW seeks to avenge their prior defeat and secure their first win in WPL 2024.

MI vs UPW WPL 2024: A 25-ball half-century from Kiran Navgire and an important unbeaten 38 from Grace Harris steered UP Warriorz to a 7-wicket victory over Mumbai Indians. Chasing a target of 162, Healy and co notched up their first win in the WPL 2024.

Alyssa Healy won the toss and chose to bowl. However, Mumbai Indians skipper Harmanpreet Kaur sat out with a niggle. Hayley Matthews and Yastika Bhatia gave the defending champions a strong start before Grace Harris took Bhatia out. Matthews added a steller 49-ball 55 before being dismissed. She hit 9 boundaries and a stunning six powering Mumbai to set a formidable target of 162 runs.

Alyssa Healy and Kiran Navgire opened for the Warriors giving them a stellar start. Navgire hit an easy 25-ball half century propelling her to the 5th position in the table of the fastest 50s in the tournament. Kiran added an important 57 runs in 31 balls before being dismissed by Amelia Kerr. However, Grace Harris led the onslaught with Alyssa Healy and McGrath departing in quick succession.

MI vs UPW Playing XI

Mumbai (Playing XI) –

Yastika Bhatia (WK), Hayley Matthews, Natalie Sciver-Brunt (C), Humairaa Kaazi , Amelia Kerr, Pooja Vastrakar, Amanjot Kaur, Sajeevan Sajana, Keerthana Balakrishnan, Saika Ishaque, Issy Wong  

UP (Playing XI) –

Alyssa Healy (C/WK), Vrinda Dinesh, Tahlia McGrath, Grace Harris, Shweta Sehrawat, Kiran Navgire, Poonam Khemnar, Deepti Sharma, Sophie Ecclestone, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Anjali Sarvani

MI vs UPW: Alyssa Healy-led Warriorz look for first win in WPL 2024 against Harmanpreet Kaur's Mumbai Indians

MI vs UPW: Squads

Mumbai Indians Women: Amanjot Kaur, Amelia Kerr, Chloe Tryon, Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Hayley Matthews, Humaira Kazi, Issy Wong, Jintimani Kalita, Nat Sciver-Brunt, Pooja Vastrakar, Priyanka Bala, Saika Ishaque, Yastika Bhatia, Shabnim Ismail, S Sajana, Amandeep Kaur, Fatima Jaffer, SB Keerthana

UP Warriorz: Alyssa Healy (c), Anjali Sarvani, Deepti Sharma, Grace Harris, Kiran Navgire, Chamari Athapaththu, Laxmi Yadav, Parshavi Chopra, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Soppadhandi Yashasri, Shweta Sehrawat, Sophie Ecclestone, Tahlia McGrath, Danni Wyatt, Vrinda Dinesh, Poonam Khemnar, Saima Thakor, Gouher Sultana.


Editors pick

DC vs GT: Delhi Capitals survive Rashid Khan scare to seal 4-run win
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?
Top 10 biggest rivalries in world football Players with highest individual score in IPL IPL Winners over the years Who won the last 5 El Clasico? Stadiums hosting EURO 2024