LSG vs MI: Bowlers reign supreme as Lucknow edge past Mumbai, jump to 3rd spot

LSG vs MI: Bowlers reign supreme as Lucknow edge past Mumbai, jump to 3rd spot

Lucknow Super Giants make strong IPL 2024 playoffs claim as Mumbai Indians inch closer to early exit after 4-wicket loss in Lucknow.

LSG vs MI Live Updates, Match 48: Lucknow Super Giants have jumped to third spot with a 4-wicket win over Mumbai Indians. The win helped LSG jump to 3rd spot with 12 points from 10 matches. Bowlers finally breathed a sigh of relief with Lucknow offering a slower wicket. And after LSG bowlers dominated the first innings restricting Mumbai Indians to 144/7. Marcus Stoinis hit 45-ball 62 to help chase down the target with 4 balls to spare.

Earlier, batting first, MI were off to a poor start with Rohit Sharma first to depart. Following that, wickets continued to fall in a flurry. Ishan Kishan and Nehal Wadhera managed to stitch together a 53-run partnership but failed to convert it into a big one. Tim David played a cameo towards the end but it came a little too late. All bowlers used by LSG picked up a wicket each barring Deepak Hooda. Mohsin Khan picked up two wickets. MI ended their innings at 144/7.

IPL 2024 Points Table

LSG vs MI Score

LSG vs MI Live Updates

Update on Mayank Yadav

Justin Langer: Looks like he is sore in the same spot. His rehab has been perfect. He has bowled pain-free the last week or so and has looked in great condition. We will have a scan and find out tomorrow.

Lucknow win!

Bowlers finally have something to cheer for. Exceptional spells by Lucknow bowlers set up the platform and the batters have finished the chase of 145 with 4 balls to spare. With the win, LSG jump to 3rd place. Mumbai put up a fight but they fall short as their batting was not up to scratch.

LSG 145/6 in 19.2 overs
MI 144/7 in 20 overs

Badoni out?

Ishan Kishan missed the throw and even as he fumbled, he managed to take the bails off. The third umpire says, it’s out as the replay shows Ayush Badoni dived but he was just a centimetre behind the crease.

LSG 133/6 in 18.1 overs

Late drama?

Gerald Coetzee has struck in the 18th over to clean up Ashton Turner. Ayush Badoni has joined Nicholas Pooran in the middle. Lucknow need 22 off 17.

LSG 123/5 in 17.1 overs

Bumrah’s magic continues

An excellent over by Bumrah for the 17th over. Bumrah gives away just 1 run and Lucknow need 22 off 18.

Lucknow inch closer

Nicholas Pooran and Ashton Turner are on crease. And Lucknow need another 23 runs in 24 deliveries.

Another one

This time Stoinis is out for 62 from 45 and is caught just inside the boundary. It is 116/4 now.


Hardik has a second wicket here. He has been good tonight with the ball. The score is 99/3 now.

Lucknow in control

LSG 99/2 in 13 overs, and they are going along nicely to win the match. Mumbai need wickets here.


LSG 77/2 in 9.5 overs

LSG in control

Lucknow are cruising along nicely at the moment. They have reached 69/2 in only 8.4 overs and need only 75 runs now.

Slow match

LSG are going at snail’s pace, but they can do so. Since they are chasing only 145. It is 32/1 after 4.3 overs.

Arshin Kulkarni flops on debut

MI get their first breakthrough as Nuwan Thushara traps Arshin Kulkarni for a LBW, sends him packing for a golden duck.

Arshin Kulkarni makes debut for LSG

MI set 145 run target

MI manage to get to 144 runs at the end of the 20th over. LSG need 145 runs to win the game.

Mayank Yadav injured?

Mayank Yadav leaves the field in between the 19th over. Naveen-ul-haq bowls the remainder of the over.

Mayank Yadav strikes!

Mayank Yadav gets first wicket on comeback, gets rid of Nabi.

MI are 123/7 in 18.1 overs.

Nehal Wadhera cleaned up!

Mohsin Khan cleans up Mohsin Khan with a peach of a delivery. Wadhera goes after scoring 46 runs.

MI are 112/6 in 17.1 overs.

Nehal Wadhera steps up for MI

MI lose another wicket

Ishan Kishan’s innings comes to an end, courtesy of a fine catch from Mayank Yadav off Ravi Bishnoi’s delivery.

MI are 82/5 in 14 overs.

MI fail to get going

MI are struggling to get going as LSG bowlers tighten the noose around the necks of the batters.

MI are 73/4 in 13 overs.

A KL Rahul magic

Mumbai struggle

Mayank back

Speedster Mayank is back and he is bowling well. The only downside is, his speed has considerably reduced and he is bowling around 145 kmph.

Wicket falling in a pack

Two wickets have fallen in a quick space here. First Tilak Varman is run out by Ravi Bishnoi, then Hardik Pandya is caught out by Naveen on the very first ball. It is 27/4.

Look at this

It is 26/2 in 4.3 overs

Surya perishes

This is not looking good for Mumbai at the moment as they lose their second wicket as well. This time it is Surya who is out for 10. Stoinis has a wicket as MI 18/2.


Mohsin Khan has a wicket in the first over itself here. What was Rohit even doing, as he plays one straight to Stoinis. It is 7/1 after 2 overs.

Stoinis starts

Surprise, surprise. So it is all-rounder Stoinis who starts for LSG, and only three runs come from the over.

Mayank Yadav returns!

LSG win toss, opt to bowl first

Lucknow Super Giants won the toss and have opted to bowl first.

Mumbai Indians (Playing XI): Ishan Kishan(w), Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Hardik Pandya(c), Nehal Wadhera, Tim David, Mohammad Nabi, Gerald Coetzee, Piyush Chawla, Jasprit Bumrah

Lucknow Super Giants (Playing XI): KL Rahul(w/c), Marcus Stoinis, Deepak Hooda, Nicholas Pooran, Ashton Turner, Ayush Badoni, Krunal Pandya, Ravi Bishnoi, Naveen-ul-Haq, Mohsin Khan, Mayank Yadav

Welcome to the live coverage of the 48th match of the IPL 2024 season between the Lucknow Super Giants and Mumbai Indians. 

LSG vs MI: Squads

Lucknow Super Giants: Quinton de Kock, KL Rahul (c & wk), Marcus Stoinis, Deepak Hooda. Nicholas Pooran, Ayush Badoni, Krunal Pandya, Matt Henry, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohsin Khan, Yash Thakur. Amit Mishra, Arshin Kulkarni, Krishnappa Gowtham, Manimaran Siddharth, Yudhvir Singh Charak, Mayank Yadav. Kyle Mayers, Ashton Turner, Prerak Mankad, Naveen-ul-Haq, Devdutt Padikkal, Arshad Khan, Shamar Joseph.

Mumbai Indians: Ishan Kishan (wk), Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma. Hardik Pandya (c), Nehal Wadhera, Tim David, Mohammad Nabi, Piyush Chawla, Luke Wood, Jasprit Bumrah. Nuwan Thushara, Naman Dhir, Shams Mulani, Dewald Brevis, Kumar Kartikeya, Shreyas Gopal, Harvik Desai, Gerald Coetzee. Romario Shepherd, Arjun Tendulkar, Shivalik Sharma, Anshul Kamboj, Akash Madhwal, Kwena Maphaka.


Editors pick

India 'undercooked' for Super 8? Rohit Sharma & Co get no gametime as rain spoils match vs Canada
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?