IPL winning captains of each edition

IPL winning captains of each edition

MS Dhoni to Hardik Pandya: Check out the list of IPL winning captains in each Indian Premier League edition.

The new season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) will begin on March 22, 2024. Defending champions Chennai Super Kings face Royal Challengers Bangalore at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. Just like the previous season, all 10 captains will be vying to lay their hands on the coveted trophy. But in what could be a dawn of an era with Rohit Sharma removed from captaincy and MS Dhoni likely calling it quits after IPL 2024, let’s look at the IPL winning captains of each edition.

Over the course of the past 16 seasons, as many as 7 different captains have earned the right to come to the podium and lift the IPL trophy. Let us take a complete list of IPL winning captains in Indian Premier League history.

Rohit SharmaMumbai Indians52013, 2015, 2017, 2019, 2020
MS DhoniChennai Super Kings42010, 2011, 2018, 2021, 2023
Gautam GambhirKolkata Knight Riders22012, 2014
Shane WarneRajasthan Royals12008
Adam GilchristDeccan Chargers12009
David WarnerSunRisers Hyderabad12016
Hardik PandyaGujarat Titans12022

IPL winning captains

The first two seasons of the IPL were all about Australian captains. Shane Warne (Rajasthan Royals in 2008) and Adam Gilchrist (Deccan Chargers in 2009) lifted their respective franchises to title glory. CSK led by MS Dhoni then stamped its authority after winning the trophy for the next two years in 2010 and 2011.

Led by Gautam Gambhir, Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) then broke CSK’s winning streak as they lifted the cup after defeating MS Dhoni and Co. in 2012. KKR also went on to win IPL 2014 under Gautam Gambhir’s leadership.

In IPL 2013, former Mumbai Indians skipper Rohit Sharma started his own legacy as he went on to win the cup four times more in 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020. Speaking about others, David Warner (SRH) and Hardik Pandya (GT) are the other two captains to win the IPL. The last IPL edition was again won by MS Dhoni-led CSK as they will look to defend their title in IPL 2024.


Editors pick

Explained: Why Virat Kohli's 'controversial dismissal' isn't controversial at all
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?
Virat Kohli – Wrong footed inswinging menace Teams with the most dropped catches in IPL 2024 IPL Teams Special Jersey Controversy, thy name is Pandya Virat-Rohit bromance moments