IPL Most Valuable Players from 2008 to 2024

IPL Most Valuable Players from 2008 to 2024

From the beginning, this valuable league also has some of the most valuable players.

Since the inception of the Indian Premier League in 2008. This bankable league has seen various young talents who have mesmerized everyone with their sheer talent, whether it is in taking wickets or constructing runs. There have been many players who have emerged as match winners for their team.

Speaking about the most valuable player award. The Indian Premier League introduced the MVP award in 2017. As Before that, IPL used to give Player of the Tournament awards. As mentioned, there have been many players who have clinched this trophy to date. Take a look at the list of players who have won the MVP award in the IPL over the years.

IPL Most Valuable Players

2008Shane WatsonRajasthan Royals
2009Adam GilchristDeccan Chargers (De funct)
2010Sachin TendulkarMumbai Indians
2011Chris GayleRoyal Challengers Bengaluru
2012Sunil NarineKolkata Knight Riders
2013Shane WatsonRajasthan Royals
2014Glenn MaxwellPunjab Kings
2015Andre RussellKolkata Knight Riders
2016Virat KohliRoyal Challengers Bengaluru
2017Ben StokesRising Pune Supergiant
(De funct)
2018Sunil NarineKolkata Knight Riders
2019Andre RussellKolkata Knight Riders
2020Jofra ArcherRajasthan Royals
2021Harshal PatelRoyal Challengers Bengaluru
2022Jos ButtlerRajasthan Royals
2023Shubman GillGujarat Titans
2024Sunil NarineKolkata Knight Riders

How are the points for Most Valuable Player calculated in the IPL?

There are several points to consider when giving an MVP award in IPL. The rules have been designed by the IPL governing council. Rules state that a batter will be awarded 2.5 points for every four hits, and for a six, it is 3.5. Speaking about bowlers, a wicket gives a player 3.5 points, whereas every dot ball bowled gives 1 point to the bowler. On the other hand, for wicket-keepers, every catch taken and stumping done is equal to 2.5 points.

Sunil Narine and Shane Watson have won the most MVP awards

Silent assassin Sunil Narine has won three MVP awards to date. Aussie great Shane Watson has two.

Speaking more about Sunil Narine, as he is the most active player among both of them, he has consistently been a key player for the Eastern Derby KKR. He has been performing well this season as well, showcasing his all-around attributes. In IPL 2024, he once again worked wonders and helped the KKR team clinch the trophy for the third time.


Editors pick

Predicted India Playing XI: Kuldeep to return, Siraj out of IND vs AFG?
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?