RCB record 17th defeat while chasing 200+ total, last won a match in 2010

RCB record 17th defeat while chasing 200+ total, last won a match in 2010

If Royal Challengers Bengaluru had won the match, it would have been the first time they successfully chased a 200+ target in 14 years.

Another day and another hefty defeat for the Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB). The side, which has had T20 legends like Ab de Villiers, Chris Gayle, Glenn Maxwell, and Virat Kohli, has chased a total of over 200 just once in the last 17 years.

Chasing 223 against the Kolkata Knight Riders at the Eden Gardens, RCB fell short by a tantalizing margin of 1 run. Adding another entry to their unfortunate losing tally. Interestingly, the last team the franchise chased down a 200+ target was in 2010, against the Chennai Super Kings. As of now, their drought continues.

RCB record chasing 200+ totals

Match PlayedMatches WonMatches Lost
Chasing 200+18117


Teams that have conceded 200+ runs most times in T20 cricket

However, if that record was poor. This was even worse. RCB has topped the table as the team in all of T20 cricket to have 200 or more runs scored against them the most times. They have overtaken the English domestic team, Middlesex, and have conceded 200+ runs 29 times in the last 17 years.

TeamsTimes conceded 200+ scores
Royal Challengers Bangalore29
Punjab Kings27


Editors pick

DRS, May 26: Rohit Sharma & co leave without Virat Kohli for T20 WC, Shreyas Iyer takes dig at BCCI
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?