IPL 2024: Gujarat Titans’ best pacer Shami’s absence will leave big void in the department

IPL 2024: Gujarat Titans’ best pacer Shami’s absence will leave big void in the department

IPL 2024: If Mohammed Shami is unable to play in this year's edition, it will could a big setback for Gujarat Titans.

For Gujarat Titans, way before the IPL 2024 has started, there have been a couple of early setbacks, which has reduced their prowess at least on paper. First it was Hardik Pandya, who led them to an IPL trophy, who returned to his old side Mumbai Indians, as a skipper, and now it is pace spearhead Mohammed Shami, who won’t be around due to an ankle injury.

As per reports, Shami, who hasn’t played at cricket due to an ankle injury since the World Cup 2023, would miss the entire IPL season. He had been brilliant last year in 2023, where he won the purple cap, and picked 28 wickets in 17 matches for team, at an average of 18, taking his side to the finals.

Prior to that, in 2022, he was among the wickets again, as he picked 20 in 16 matches, at an average of 24.


List of IPL winners in Indian Premier League history

Players with most runs in IPL history

Most expensive bowling spells in IPL history

Shami, Gujarat’s Best Bowler by a Distance

Overall, in the two years Gujarat Titans has played, Shami has been their best pacer, and by a distance. In the 31 matches for the team, he has picked 48 wickets. at an average of 21, and an economy of 8. After that, it is Mohit Sharma, who has the most wickets as a pacer for the team. He has 27 wickets in 14 matches. Though the latter has a decent record, it is impossible to replicate what Shami has to offer, in terms of his speed, accuracy, and seam position.

There is even a bigger gap after Mohit, as Yash Dayal is the best pacer in the team after that, who has 13 wickets in 14 matches, and has been mighty expensive, leaking runs at 10.02 rpo.

Major Responsibility on Umesh Yadav

Veteran Umesh Yadav will have to be the spearhead of the team, who himself had a poor 2023 season. Last year, he got only one wicket in eight matches, at an average of 189. Then there is Aussie Spencer Johnson, Josh Little, Kartik Tyagi, Darshan Nalkande, and Azmatullah Omarzai, who are yet to shine at the IPL stage.


Editors pick

LSG vs DC Highlights: Rishabh Pant & Kuldeep Yadav light Lucknow Super Giants on fire at Ekana
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?